Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

File Audit Report - Description of Actions

Follow

This article provides a detailed explanation of the different "Actions" in a File Audit Report

General Actions

Action

Description

Upload
  • When a file is edited and changes are saved to the Egnyte domain.
  • When new files are uploaded to the Egnyte domain.
Create Folder
  • New folder(s) created on the cloud.

Download

  • When a file or folder is downloaded from the cloud or copied to a local folder via the Desktop App
  • When files or folders are synced for offline access.
  • When a file is downloaded via external apps to view file information such as metadata or a preview.
Promote File Version
  • When an old version of a file is promoted to the current version.
Preview
  • When a file is previewed through the WebUI.
    Note: Preview from other apps such as Explorer or Finder is counted as Download.
Read
  • When a file on a computer with Desktop App installed was accessed from the local machine cache by the user or another application on the same device.

 

Move and Copy

Action

Description

Move File or Folder
  • When a file or folder is moved or renamed.
Move - Parent
  • When a file or folder was moved as a result of its parent folder(s) being moved.
Copy File or Folder
  • When a file or folder is copied from one location to another.
Copy - Parent
  • When a file or folder was copied as a result of its parent folder being copied.

 

Delete and Restore

Action

Description

Delete File or Folder
  • When a file or folder is deleted or moved to the trash.
Delete - Parent
  • When a file or folder was deleted and moved to the trash as a result of its parent folder(s) being deleted.
Restore From Trash
  • When a file or folder was restored from the trash.
Restore From Trash - Parent
  • When a file or folder was restored from the trash as a result of its parent folder being restored.
Delete From Trash
Delete From Trash - Parent
  • When a file or folder was deleted permanently from the trash as a result of its parent folder being permanently deleted from trash.

 

File Locking

Action

Description

Lock File
  • When a file was locked because it was opened from an Egnyte application such as Desktop App or WebEdit,
  • A co-editing session was created.
  • File manually locked by an Admin. 
Unlock File
  • When the lock on a file was released or when a co-editing session is over.
Co-Edit File
  • When an additional user joins a co-editing session.
    Note: As the first user starts a co-editing session,  a "Lock File" event (with "Co-Editing Session Id: ... " information in the "Action Info" field) will be added to the audit and any following users that joined the co-editing session will have a "Co-Edit File" event for each of the users in the audit report.

 

Link Actions

Action

Description

Create Link
Delete Link
  • When a share link is deleted.
Download via Link
  • When a file was downloaded from a share link.
Preview via Link
  • When a file was previewed through a share link.
Create Upload Link
Delete Upload Link
  • When an upload link is deleted.

 

Miscellaneous

Action

Description

Add Note
Delete Note
  • When a comment was removed.
Add Metadata
Delete Metadata
  • When metadata is deleted.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.