When removing data from the cloud, the last thing you want is for your data to remain on the file servers even after you’ve deleted it. This exposes you to unnecessary risk when handling sensitive content per your own data management policies. At the same time, you need a recovery plan to look after items that are accidentally deleted. That’s why Egnyte employs a data removal process to protect your company during content deletion.
In Egnyte, when files or folders are deleted, they go into a Trash folder. Users may be allowed to restore items from their Trash folder to reverse accidental deletions. After items have been in the Trash folder for the designated period, they are emptied from the Trash and completely removed from Egnyte’s system.
Users can learn more about the trash and retention policy settings here.
Only users with Full or Owner permissions to a folder can delete items.
To delete folders or files:
- Select the item(s) you would like to remove.
- Choose Delete from the menu.
- Click Delete when the confirmation dialog box appears.