In Egnyte, when files or folders are deleted, they go into a Trash folder. After items have been in the Trash folder for the designated period, they are emptied from the Trash and completely removed from Egnyte’s system. However, customers may want to permanently delete data from the trash bin for various reasons.
Users can learn more about the trash and retention policy settings here.
Only the admin of the particular domain has the ability to manually purge the data (delete permanently) from the trash. However, in some cases, the default retention period may be set, or the domain may have unlimited trash enabled, then it is not possible to delete the data from the trash.
And the Delete Permanently option may be greyed out.
To delete folders or files permanently from the trash:
- Select the item(s) you would like to remove from the trash.
- Choose Delete Permanently from the menu.
- Click Delete Permanently when the confirmation dialog box appears.