Appending file names with indicators like v 2.1 and 2013 03 23 is an inconvenient way to track the iterations of a file and dramatically increases your storage needs. By contrast, Egnyte automatically creates a new version of a file each time a change is saved for an existing document. Your Administrator has set up version policies to dictate how many versions are collected before the old versions are moved to trash. Read on to learn more about file versions and how to "promote" old versions to replace the existing file.

Skip Ahead to...

View Versions

Restore Old Version

Additional Information

View Versions

To view a file's versions, you must first select the List view or Condensed view option. Versions are not visible with the Large icons view.

UI_views.png

The number indicated next to the icon that looks like a clock is the file's version count.

UI_versions.png

For any given file, only a certain number of versions will be retained. By default, this maximum number of versions is 3, but Admins can change this value through a setting in your account if your plan allows it. This setting can be found under Trash and Retention Policies.

Only three versions will be kept for the following file types, regardless of your account setting: Microsoft Outlook/Exchange (.pst and .ost), Microsoft Access (.mdb), QuickBooks (.qbb) and email (.eml) files.

Restore Old Version

  1. Click the version icon.
  2. Locate the old version you would like to promote to the current version and click the icon highlighted below.

    Screen_Shot_2019-03-14_at_11.14.39_AM.png
  3. The selected version is now the current version and will be shown when users preview or access the file through a link.

Additional Information

Egnyte always orders file versions by their modified date when determining the current version. When you restore an old version (i.e., make current) through the Web UI, we overwrite the timestamp with the present time.

If you're trying to copy and replace a file through the Desktop App, Desktop Sync, or Storage Sync, you'll need to be aware of some caveats. When users attempt to copy a file in Windows File Explorer or Mac Finder with an older timestamp than the latest version that is available in the Web UI, the file is uploaded but treated as an older version. This means that you can still access the file from the version history window in the Web UI. If you want to promote it to the newest version, choose the 'Make current' option from version history in the Web UI. Alternatively, you can revise the file to update it's modified date to the current date, so it's regarded as the newest version based on modified time.