Create a New User Account

Overview


When Admins are ready to give a new employee access to Egnyte, a new user account can be created right from the Web UI.

Egnyte has three user types:

  • Standard Users: A limited role suitable for external collaborators.

  • Power Users: The role you will assign to users who are employees of your company.

  • Administrators: Like Power Users, but with a wide-range of administrative capabilities, like running reports.

If you'd like to learn more about the different types of users and which to use, our Administrators, Power Users, and Standard Users article can help.

If the ability to create Service Accounts has been enabled on your domain, Admins can also set up a Service Account with an Admin or Power User type.

Some accounts may have different settings to let Power Users create new Standard or Power User accounts as well.

Add New User

  1. Once you have determined the type of user to add, make sure you're logged into Egnyte as an Admin or Power User with the proper permissions.
  2. Navigate to Settings from the menu and open the Users & Groups tab. Then, click the Add New Account button and select the type of user you'd like to add.

    Note: If you're a Power User that can create Standard Users, the Add New User button will automatically bring up a New Standard User dialog.
  3. Enter the relevant information for the user and click Save.


    A few things to note:
    Usernames cannot be changed once the account is created.
    The email address must be unique and cannot be used by another Egnyte user.
    If you utilize Role-based Administration, you can assign a role to a user from the User role drop-down.
    If your company uses Active Directory or Single Sign-On (SSO) to authenticate your users, select the appropriate option from the Authentication Type drop-down and provide any additional information required.
    You can create a custom message that will appear in the email invitation by checking the Add custom message to email box.
  4. Once the user has been created, you'll receive a confirmation and a link to add the user to groups.

    Screen_Shot_2019-01-03_at_9.36.46_AM.png

 

If the user accidentally deletes the invitation email or does not accept the invitation within 14 days, you can easily resend it from the Users & Groups tab by clicking on the Pending drop-down.

 

Next Steps

Once your user has been created, you'll need to assign them folder permissions so they can read, edit, move, or copy the files and sub-folders.

If you haven't already done so, you can add the user to a group.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community .