Egnyte Help Desk

Sharing with Folder Permissions

Overview

When you share a folder with another user in your Egnyte account, you make all of the files contained in that folder accessible to them. Depending on the other user's folder permission level, they can read, edit, move, copy, or delete the contents. This is different from sharing a file or folder link, which only permits the recipient to download the contents. Follow one of the links below to learn more.  For further questions on how permissions work in Egnyte, please refer to the Permissions FAQs.

How to Share Folders

Folder Access Levels

Sub-folder Access

Allowing Group Access Management

How Folder Sharing Works with Storage Sync

User Access Reports

Sharing from a Mobile Device

How to Share Folders

Once you’ve created a new project folder, you can share the folder with colleagues by navigating into the folder and clicking on the "Share" icon from the list of options below the folder path.

Select the "Folder Permissions" option.

From here you can add employees and business partners to your folder.  To share the folder with a colleague who is already a user in your Egnyte account, simply search for the colleague's name or username in the search bar.  To share the folder with a colleague who does not yet have an Egnyte user account, click on "Invite New User" and fill out the details to create an account for them.  An invitation will be sent to your colleague's email address with instructions for logging in.

Folder Access Levels

When fellow employees and outside business partners collaborate on a project, you may want collaborators to have different levels of control over the files contained in the folder to protect against file deletions and other unauthorized modifications.  Egnyte provides the ability to assign four different access levels to project folders:  Viewer, Editor, Full, and Owner. The following chart lays out each level's permissions. 

 

Viewer

Editor

Full

Owner

Download/Read Files, Folders Yes Yes Yes Yes
Copy Files, Folders Yes Yes Yes Yes
Upload/Edit Files, Folders No Yes Yes Yes
Create Sub-folder No Yes Yes Yes
Rename Files , Folders No Yes Yes Yes
Move Files, Folders No No Yes Yes
Delete Files, Folders No No Yes Yes
Edit Folder Sharing No No Yes Yes
Create Upload Links No Yes Yes Yes
Set Permissions No No No Yes

 * This permission is called "permit" in the Classic UI.

Sub-folder Access

When you share a folder with fellow employees or business partners, they automatically receive access to all the folder's sub-folders.  However, you can modify sub-folder level access by managing permissions at the sub-folder level.

Learn more about Egnyte’s folder sharing structure.

Allowing Group Access Management

In order to provide autonomy to project teams and departments, Egnyte lets employees modify access to folders for which they are Owners.  In the same way, Egnyte allows employees to create groups to manage access easily for multiple users. Administrators have the ability to remove this permission.

To toggle off the ability for employees to create groups, go to "Settings" -> "Configuration" -> "Users Types & Roles." Then, click on "Power Users can view Users & Groups."

In some cases, an individual user will have access to a folder, but will also be a member of a group which has access to the folder. For example, they might have "Owner" access individually, but be a member of a group which has "Viewer" access. In this case, the higher permission always apply, so the user will have "Owner" access to the folder.

How Folder Sharing Works with Storage Sync

Egnyte allows you to centrally manage all folder access for Storage Sync, so anyone with access to folders in Egnyte will be able to access those same folders on your local file server(s).  When you make changes to folder access in your Egnyte account, the modifications are automatically applied on your local file server.

Please note that when you initially migrate data to your Egnyte account, Egnyte replaces NTFS local file server permissions with folder access levels which have been set in the cloud.

Permission Audit Reports

As an Administrator user, you have two tools to monitor how folders are being shared in your domain. The User Permission Report provides a snapshot of which users have access to the Shared folders in your domain. Each row in this report will indicate a User, their User Type, the Group they belong to, a Shared Folder, and the User's permission level for that folder. 

While the User Permission Report gives you a snapshot of current folder permissions, the Permissions Audit Report provides you with a history of how your users have shared access to the Shared folders in your domain over a period of time. For example, if a user currently has access to your company's shared "Finance" folder, but was only granted access one week ago, this transaction will appear in the Permissions Audit Report. 

Admins can access both of these reports at "Settings" -> "Reports", and the contents of either report can be exported as a CSV for further analysis. Please note that the Permissions Audit Report is only available to accounts which purchase our Audits package, which is available on the Business and Enterprise plan. The User Permission Report is available to accounts on all plans.

Sharing from a Mobile Device

You can share a folder and even invite new users to share from your Android device, iPhone, or iPad using one of Egnyte's mobile apps. Tap a folder to select it.  Long tap a folder to see the options panel on the right side.

Tap Permissions and select Add User on the next screen. Choose who to share the file with and specify whether you want to make them an admin, employee (power user), or non-employee (standard user).

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community.

Help Improve Egnyte

Every day we work hard to make Egnyte better with feedback from users to improve our products. Sign up to participate in Egnyte User Studies.