When you share a folder with another user in your Egnyte account, you make all of the files contained in that folder accessible to them. Depending on the other user's folder permission level, they can read, edit, move, copy, or delete the contents. This is different from sharing a file or folder link, which only permits the recipient to download the contents. Follow one of the links below to learn more. For further questions on how permissions work in Egnyte, please refer to the Permissions FAQs. You can learn by watching a short video about Granting Access with Folder Permissions.

Invite a User to Access a Folder

Remove a User or Group from a Folder

Folder Access Levels

Sub-folder Access

Sharing from a Mobile Device

Folder Sharing with Storage Sync


Invite a User or Group to Access a Folder

Once you’ve created a new folder, you can share the folder with colleagues. Navigate into the folder, select Share from the list of options, and click Manage Folder Permissions.

Only Admins and folder owners can grant access to shared folders.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-26_at_3.47.06_PM.png

The Folder Permissions window shows all users that have access to the current folder. If you want to share files with colleagues who already have an Egnyte user account, enter their username or group name in the search bar. If you haven’t yet invited any colleagues to Egnyte to share files, click Create new account for "____" and enter a new username, email address, and password. An invitation will be sent to your colleague’s email address with instructions for logging in.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-26_at_3.52.28_PM.png

When inviting new users into Egnyte, you have the option of choosing what type of user they are added as. To learn more about the different user types, you can do so here.

When you invite a user, you'll need to provide their email address and a user name. The User Name field will auto-populate with a suggested name based on the email address you enter for the new user.

You'll also need to apply the permissions level you'd like the user to have. You can learn more about the access levels in the next section. By default, the new user will be given Editor access to files in these folders, allowing them to download as well as edit files. Click Done once you're ready. The new user will have immediate access to all files in the current folder as well as all the files contained in its sub-folders (if permissions are inherited from the parent folder).

Remove a User or Group from a Folder

As users' duties and responsibilities change, you may find that they have access to folders they no longer need. To make the change, you'll need to navigate into the folder you want to remove them from, select Share from the list of options, and click Manage Folder Permissions.

Only Admins and folder owners can change access to shared folders.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-26_at_3.47.06_PM.png

Locate the user or group you'd like to remove and click the x next to their name.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-27_at_9.07.55_AM.png

Once all of the users or groups have been removed, click Save to apply the changes.

Folder Access Levels

When fellow employees and outside business partners collaborate on a project, you may want collaborators to have different levels of control over the files contained in the folder to protect against file deletions and other unauthorized modifications. Egnyte provides the ability to assign four different access levels to project folders: Viewer, Editor, Full, and Owner. The following chart lays out each level's permissions.

 

Viewer

Editor

Full

Owner*

Download/Read Files, Folders Yes Yes Yes Yes
Copy Files, Folders Yes Yes Yes Yes
Upload/Edit Files, Folders No Yes Yes Yes
Create Sub-folder No Yes Yes Yes
Rename Files, Folders No Yes Yes Yes
Move Files, Folders No No Yes Yes
Delete Files, Folders, or Versions
No No Yes Yes
Edit Folder Sharing No No No Yes
Create Upload Links No Yes Yes Yes
Set Permissions No No No Yes

*The owner permission is called "permit" in the Classic UI.

Sub-Folder Access

When you share a folder with fellow employees or business partners, they automatically receive access to all the folder's sub-folders. However, you can modify sub-folder level access by managing permissions at the sub-folder level. You can also configure a folder so that it doesn't inherit permissions from its parent

Learn more about Egnyte’s folder sharing structure.

Learn more about disabling permissions inheritance for a folder.

Learn more about "None" permission in the "Folder Permissions Report."

Sharing from a Mobile Device

You can share a folder with users and groups and even invite new users to share from your Android device, iPhone, or iPad using one of Egnyte's mobile apps. Long tap a folder or tap the 3 dots next to the folder to see the options panel on the bottom of the screen. Tap Permission and select Add User or Add Group on the next screen.

Choose who to share the file with by searching for an existing user or group and tapping their record when it appears. If you want to add a new user, tap the + icon to select someone from your contacts or type in their name, and tap Invite new user. Enter their information, specify whether you want to make them an Administrator, Employee (Power User), or Non-employee (Standard User) and select their permission level (Owner, Full, Editor, or Viewer). Once you have their information entered, tap Invite, and they will be sent an email with login instructions.

 

Folder Sharing with Storage Sync

Egnyte allows you to centrally manage all folder access for Storage Sync, so anyone with access to folders in Egnyte will be able to access those same folders on your local file server(s). When you make changes to folder access in your Egnyte account, the modifications are automatically applied on your local file server.

When you initially migrate data to your Egnyte account, Egnyte replaces NTFS local file server permissions with folder access levels which have been set in the cloud.