Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Managing and Using Trash in Egnyte - FAQs

Follow

Are users able to delete unwanted files and folders in Egnyte?  

Yes, the users with Owner and Full permissions to a folder are allowed to delete unwanted files and folders within that folder in Egnyte.

Which files and folders are visible to me?  

Power Users can only view trash content they've deleted. Admins can view the trash content for the entire account.  

What happens to the deleted files and folders? 

The deleted files and folders are moved into the Trash folder. The files and folders in the Trash folder are retained according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin. The files and folders then get permanently deleted. 

How long the deleted files and folder are retained in the Trash folder? 

The files and folders in the Trash folder are retained according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin.  

Will the files and folders in the Trash folder ever be deleted permanently?   

Yes, the deleted files and folders in the Trash folder will be permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy. In some cases, the default retention period may be set through content lifecycle policies in Secure & Govern, or the domain may have unlimited trash enabled, then it is not possible to permanently delete the data in the Trash folder.  

I am the domain admin. Why is the permanently delete option disabled for me?  

In some cases, the default retention period may be set through content lifecycle policies in Secure & Govern, or the domain may have unlimited trash enabled, then it is not possible to permanently delete the data in the Trash folder. In such cases, the Delete Permanently option will be greyed out.  

What if I accidentally delete some files and folders? 

The deleted files and folders are retained in the Trash folder according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin. Until the deleted files and folders are in the Trash folder, you can always restore them in case they were deleted accidentally provided the admin has configured to let the users restore the items from the Trash folder. You can reach out to your admin to restore the files and folders in case you cannot restore them yourself.  

I do not see an option to restore the files I deleted accidentally. What do I do?  

You can reach out to your admin to restore the files and folders in case you cannot restore them yourself. Please note that the files and folders from the Trash folder can be restored until they are permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy. 

Is there a way to restore deleted files that are permanently deleted from the Trash folder?  

No, the files and folders from the Trash can be restored until they are permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy. 

What happens to folder permissions after it is restored from the Trash folder?  

When a Power User restores a folder, the original permissions are always restored. Admins who restore folders from the trash are given an option on whether to restore the original permissions of the folder or to use the permissions of the parent folder.  

Who can configure the trash management policies and settings?  

The domain admins can setup various trash and retention policies like file version policy to define how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to trash, trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash, and user settings to define if they want to let their users view and restore items they've deleted. 

What is file version policy and how it helps manage the storage?  

The File version policy determines how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to Trash Folder. The domain admins can set up this policy. 

What is the trash purge setting and how it helps manage the storage?  

The domain admins can set up the trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash.  

What is the maximum duration for which the files and folders in the trash can be retained using the trash purge setting? 

Files remain in the Trash folder for 30 days by default and can stay in the Trash folder for up to 180 days. When determining how long to set the retention policy, keep in mind that once the trash is purged, it cannot be restored.  

Do I get any opportunity to review the trash before it is purged (deleted permanently)? 

Admins can enable a notification, so they have time before trash is purged to review the contents and ensure nothing has been deleted erroneously.  

What is unlimited trash and is this still supported by Egnyte? 

Unlimited Trash is a legacy option for the Egnyte Connect platform. When enabled, items in Trash folder can never be purged from the system. While this made sure that no files were ever accidentally or maliciously removed from the system permanently, trash does count toward a domain's overall storage. Please refer to Unlimited Trash and Data Retention for more details on this. 

This service is not offered and supported by Egnyte anymore.  

How can I enable unlimited trash in Egnyte?  

Unlimited Trash is a legacy option for the Egnyte Connect platform and this service is not offered and supported by Egnyte anymore. Please refer to Unlimited Trash and Data Retention for more details on this.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.