Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Retention protects business-critical files while helping Administrators comply with data retention laws, regulations, and contract requirements. The default retention period set in Secure & Govern will preserve all files in Connect sources for a designated time. These default settings act as a fallback i.e. only if there are no retention policy matches for a given file, the default retention period if configured would apply. If multiple retention periods cover the same files, the longest of the retention periods will apply. Learn how to set up a default retention period below. 

Set a Default Retention Period

  1. Navigate to Settings on the main Secure & Govern page. 
  2. Select Content Lifecycle from the left side navigation

    Secure and Govern_Retention Period_1.jpeg
  1. Click Edit to change the default retention period for the Connect content source.

    Def_Reten_Main.png
  1. Select the default retention period from the drop-down or choose Custom to create your own.

    Ret_options.png
  1. Once selected, click Save to apply your changes.

    SaveSetting.png

Frequently Asked Questions

In Egnyte Secure & Govern, the default retention policy acts as a fallback, i.e., only if there are no retention policy matches for a given file, the default retention, if configured, would apply to a file.

Files in trash show as being retained because Egnyte Secure & Govern enforces a 7 days grace period for items within the trash once any Default Retention or Retention Policy has been configured for a domain. This ensures that Secure & Govern can correctly process and keep deleted files, even if the time between file creation and deletion is very short (e.g., a user creates a file and immediately deletes it).

This grace period makes sure that Secure & Govern always enforces the retention rules you have configured, no matter what. The grace period means that deleted files cannot be purged manually, nor automatically, until one week after they have been deleted. After one week, if the deleted file is not subject to retention, it won't show "Under retention" anymore and can be purged. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.