If you still have questions about the Protect Content Lifecycle feature, check out the frequently asked questions below.
How are file versions handled?
Files are handled at the version level, based on the creation time of each version. This means that while older versions of a file will be released from retention, deleted, or archived, newer versions will remain unaffected. Eventually, once all versions of the file are released from retention, deleted, or archived, the file itself will be released or removed.
When a file matches more than one policy, which one applies?
The shortest period mandated by all matching policies for a file is the one that applies to the file.
If certain content requires a shorter retention period, do not have your default retention period be longer than that time, or the more extended retention period will override it.
Can I increase the period for files matched by more than one policy?
Since the shortest period based on all matching policies applies, there is currently no way to create another policy that would increase the deletion period for a given file.
Can I retain/delete/archive files matching a certain classification policy such as GDPR or CCPA?
Check out the Content Lifecycle Policies article to learn how to set this up within the policy.
Can I handle files based on where they’re located, such as the finance or HR folder? What happens if files are moved out of the folder?
Check out the Content Lifecycle Policies article to learn how to set this up within the policy. Files can accumulate multiple policy matches if moved from folder to folder where there are retention policies in place.
For retention policies that mandate deletion, they follow files that have been moved. For standalone policies, moving the file will result in the policy no longer applying.
How can I tell if a policy I created is working?
The number of files matching any given policy is shown in the list of policies. You can use this count to assess the impact of the policy.
Any specific files that have been deleted that are subject to retention appear with a distinct retention icon in the trash. The expiry date of the retention period for the file is also shown.
What is the time period of the policy based on?
Check out the Content Lifecycle Policies article to learn more about the different policies and how they're applied to files and their versions.
How do I unlock a policy?
The only way to unlock a policy is to have a Protect Admin contact Egnyte Support. Any built-in or custom policies that are leveraged by the policy will also be locked and cannot be edited, disabled, or deleted until the policy is unlocked.