When you need to specify document retention, deletion, and archival settings, Content Lifecycles in Secure & Govern can help you achieve this. Please continue to find more information about the different policies, how to create them, and how to make changes.
Skip Ahead to...
Retention policies let Administrators retain specific files automatically based on when the file was created (noted as Modified Time in Collaborate) or when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple retention policies are retained according to the policy with the most extended retention period.
If you're setting up a Retention Policy, you'll want to decide what's done to the files when retention ends (i.e., Move files to the archive domain and only retain the latest version of files).
Do nothing - leave the files in place.
Move file versions to Trash - moves the current file and all versions to the Trash. This means that the files will be in Trash with no retention defined so that they will be deleted per the Trash Purge settings in the Collaborate settings.
Move files to archive domain - will copy the current file and all versions to the specified archive domain. Local versions will be moved to Trash.
The "Retain only latest versions of files" setting does not affect the "When retention ends" settings. Meaning, if you enable "Retain only latest versions of files" and specify "Move file versions to trash," all files, including the latest version, will be moved to Trash when retention ends. This setting specifies that retention will not be applied to older versions of a file.
Archiving policies allow Administrators to archive specific files automatically based on when each version of the file was created (noted as Modified Time in Collaborate) or when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple archiving policies are archived according to the policy with the shortest archiving period.
Deletion policies let Administrators delete specific files automatically based on when the file was created (noted as Modified Time in Collaborate) or when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple deletion policies are deleted with the shortest deletion period according to the policy.
Deletion policies have safeguards that prevent users from accidentally deleting files. When you first create a deletion policy, you must save it as a draft so that the impact of the policy can be calculated, and you are provided visibility into the files that will be deleted. Once that impact has been calculated, an email will be sent to the policy creator, noting that it can be published.
Create a Policy
Navigate to Settings, select Content Lifecycle.
In the Content Lifecycle section, click Add Policy and select the policy type you want to create.
You will be asked to configure several items when creating a policy. The Content Sources the policy should include:
- A Policy name
- A Description of the policy
- Whether the policy should apply to files or projects,
- The time period when action should be taken on the files. If selecting Last Accessed as time criteria, you will also be asked to specify if that date should fall back to the version creation date or file upload date if no access events have occurred for that file
- If you want to leave a stub files in the place of file that is archived or deleted. Stub files will retain the name of the original file with a .txt extension and will include information about when the file was moved
From the Archive/Delete/Retain files that match drop-down, choose if files should match any or all of the criteria.
When creating an archival policy where the source and destination are the same domain, the system will prevent the Destination location from being archived. For example, a user creates an archive policy to archive anything in "/Shared" older than two years and sets the destination for "/Shared/Archive_Target" in the same domain. In this case, the system will prevent archiving the files in "/Shared/Archive_Target" so it doesn't get stuck in an infinite archiving loop
If you wish to match selected classification policies, click the Configure icon and choose which classification policies files that are affected must match. You can choose from built-in or custom policies. Classification policies are only available on Platform Enterprise.
If you wish to choose what is contained in selected folders in the previous step, click the Configure icon and choose all folder locations with files that should be archived. When you select a folder, all sub-folders are included by default. Click Save when done.
If you're creating an archiving policy, you'll need to select which domain and folder the archived content will be moved to.
After entering all of the details about the policy, click Create policy. Protect will start scanning your Connect accounts for matching files.
Create Project-Based Policy
You can now create lifecycle policies for files residing within your project folders. Policies are based on the status of your project and the end date of the project.
Follow the steps below to create a project folder:
In the Collaborate view, navigate to the folder location you wish to be treated as a Project folder.
Click on the More option on the top navigation, and select Mark as Project.
Select the status of your project from the drop-down based on your project's actual status. Also, enter the start and the end date of your project.
Follow the steps below to create a project-based policy:
Navigate to Settings, select Content Lifecycle. In the Content Lifecycle Policies section, click Add Policy and select the policy type you would like to create. For example, click on Archiving to create a Project-based Archiving policy.
Enter a Policy Name, Description, choose the option to apply the policy on Projects and choose the time period when action should be taken on the files within projects.
The file action period is based on the Estimated Project End Date of each project.
For the lifecycle policy action to be taken, the status of the Project should be done. You can change the status of the project by navigating to Project Settings.
If a project meets the criteria of a lifecycle policy, all files within the project are actioned upon.
Edit, Delete, or Lock a Policy
Once you've created an archiving, deletion, or retention policy, you can easily make changes to the policy.
Navigate to Settings, select Content Lifecycle. In the Content Lifecycle Policies section, click the three dots next to the policy you'd like to change and select the appropriate option from the drop-down.
Edit policy: Make changes to an existing policy, like which folders or classification policies the files must match.
Delete policy: When a policy is deleted, those files will no longer be subject to the policy.
Lock policy: This option is only available for retention policies. If a retention policy is locked, it cannot be edited or deleted by anyone. The only way to unlock it is to have a Secure & Govern Admin contact Egnyte Support. Any built-in or custom policies leveraged by the policy will also be locked and cannot be edited, disabled, or deleted.
If you've edited the policy, click Save policy to apply any changes.
Learn more about Content Lifecycle Policies by watching a Quick Tip on Egnyte University: Adding Content Lifecycle Policies.