When you need to specify document retention, deletion, and archival settings, Content Lifecycles in Protect can help you achieve this. Continue on to find more information about the different policies, how to create them, and how to make changes to them.

Skip Ahead to...

Create a Policy

Edit, Delete, or Lock a Policy

Create a Policy

  1. Navigate to Settings, expand the Content Lifecycle drop-down, and click on Policies.



  2. In the Content Lifecycle Policies section, click Add Policy and select the policy type you would like to create. You can learn about the different policy types below.

    Retention: Retention policies let Administrators retain specific files automatically based on when the file was created, not when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple retention policies are retained according to the policy with the most extended retention period.

    Deletion: Deletion policies let Administrators delete specific files automatically based on when the file was created, not when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple deletion policies are deleted according to the policy with the shortest deletion period.

    Archiving: Archiving policies allow Administrators to archive specific files automatically based on when each version of the file was created, not when it was last accessed. The policies cover files based on matches to classification policies or folder locations. Files covered by multiple archiving policies are archived according to the policy with the shortest archiving period.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-03_at_2.30.54_PM.png

  3. Enter a Policy name, Description, and time period for when action should be taken on the files.

    If you're setting up a Retention Policy, you'll also want to decide what's done to the files when retention ends (i.e., Move files to archive domain and only retain the latest version of files)


    Screen_Shot_2019-10-03_at_2.47.24_PM.png

  4. From the Policy affects files that drop-down, choose if files should match selected classification policies or are contained in selected folders.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.03.35_AM.png

  5. If you selected match selected classification policies in the previous step, click the Configure icon and choose which classification policies files that are affected must match. You can choose from built-in or custom policies. 

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.07.58_AM.png

    If you chose are contained in selected folders in the previous step, click the Configure icon and choose all folder locations that have files that should be archived. When you select a folder, all sub-folders are included by default. Click Save when done.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.06.32_AM.png

  6. If you're creating an archiving policy, you'll also need to select which domain and folder the archived content will be moved to.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.10.05_AM.png

  7. After entering all of the details about the policy, click Create policy. Protect will start scanning your Connect accounts for matching files.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.12.30_AM.png

 

Edit, Delete, or Lock a Policy

Once you've created an archiving, deletetion, or retention policy, you can make easily make changes to the policy.

  1. Navigate to Settings, expand the Content Lifecycle drop-down, and then click on Policies.

  2. Click the three dots next to the policy you'd like to change and select the appropriate option from the drop-down. 

    Edit policy: Make changes to an existing policy, like which folders or classification policies the files must match.

    Delete policy: When a policy is deleted, those files will no longer be subject to the policy.

    Lock policy: This option is only available for retention policies. If a retention policy is locked, it cannot be edited or deleted by anyone. The only way to unlock it is to have a Protect Admin contact Egnyte Support. Any built-in or custom policies that are leveraged by the policy will also be locked and cannot be edited, disabled, or deleted.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.30.54_AM.png

  3. If you've edited the policy, click Save policy to apply any changes.

    Screen_Shot_2019-10-04_at_10.37.35_AM.png