Permissions FAQs

How do I modify folder permissions?

What is the difference between Owner, Full, Editor, and Viewer permissions?

How are permissions assigned when a user has multiple permission levels for the same folder?

How do I look at the current permissions for folders?

How do you assign permissions to a file?

Can you modify permissions on the Egnyte mobile app?

How do I exclude a user in a group from a specific folder?

How do I migrate my current permissions policy to Egnyte?

How do I assign permissions to external collaborators?

What are the permissions for Private folders?

How do I prevent users from accidentally moving or deleting a folder?

What is a None permission?

Can I modify permissions for Admins?

How are permissions inherited between a parent and child folder?

 

How do I modify folder permissions?

Select the desired folder by checking the box next to it or by right clicking on the folder. Then, hover over the Share option and click Manage Folder Permissions.

Screen_Shot_2018-12-12_at_10.58.48_AM.png

If you've already opened the folder, you can also change permissions by selecting Share and choosing Manage Folder Permissions from the drop-down.

Screen_Shot_2018-12-12_at_10.57.13_AM.png

 

What is the difference between Owner, Full, Editor, and Viewer permissions?

Permissions Level
Description
Viewer Read only
Editor Read/Write (& rename)
Full Read/Write/Delete (& rename)
Owner Read/Write/Delete and Permissions Management

 

How are permissions assigned when a user has multiple permission levels for the same folder?

User permissions always take precedence over group permissions (even if the group permission is set at a deeper level within the folder hierarchy). For example, if Alex is part of a group that has Full access and Alex also has individual Editor access to the same folder, Alex will have Editor permissions for that folder.

If the user has NONE permissions that were set through the Permissions API, group permissions will override the NONE user permission. Learn more about the NONE permission here.

If a user is part of two groups with varying permission level, the higher permission level takes precedence. For example, if Taylor is part of a group that has Full access and another group that has Editor access to the same folder, Taylor will have Full access for that folder.

For individual user permissions, the permission set at the deepest level of the folder hierarchy takes precedence. For example, if Jamie has Full access to the Finance folder and Editor access to the nested Payroll folder, Jamie will have Editor access for the Payroll folder.

 

How do I look at the current permissions for folders?

The easiest way to see the current folder permissions is to run a Folder Permissions Report. You can learn how to run this report here. Only Administrators can access this report by default. However, Administrators can enable certain Power Users to run reports using role-based administration.

You can also open the Manage Folder Permissions window to view the permissions for only that folder (no child or sub-folders).

 

How do I assign permissions to a file?

Permissions can only be assigned to a folder, not a file. Files inherit the permissions of their parent folder.

 

Can I modify permissions on the Egnyte mobile app?

Yes, folder owners can modify permissions in the Egnyte mobile app.

 

How do I exclude a specific user in a group from a folder?

Permissions are assigned at the user and group level. Ensure that only the desired users are in the group that is given permissions for that folder.

 

How do I migrate my current permissions policy to Egnyte?

Cloud Migration Manager can migrate files, folders, and folder permissions from an on-premises server to Egnyte. Otherwise, please contact support@egnyte.com to assist you with the permissions migration.

 

How do I assign permissions to external collaborators?

Type in the email address of the external collaborator. You will be prompted to create a new Standard User account for the external collaborator.

 

What are the permissions for Private folders?

All folders that are under the Private folder (/Private/{username}) give that user and all administrators Full permissions. No other users will have access. Private folder permissions cannot be modified.

 

How do I prevent a user from accidentally deleting or moving a folder?

Administrators and users with owner permissions can use the fixed folder setting. For more information, please refer to the Delete & Move Permissions section of this article.

 

What is a None permission?

A None permission denies the specified user or group any access to the folder. The None permission can only be set via the Permissions API.

 

Can I modify permissions for Admins?

All Administrators have Owner permissions for all folders under Shared. Permissions for Admins cannot be modified. Instead, you may want to set up the user as a Power User and use role-based administration to assign certain Admin functions to the user.

 

How are permissions inherited between a parent and child folder?

By default, permissions are inherited directly from the parent folder (waterfall permissions). If the permissions for the parent and child folder conflict, the permissions for the child folder takes precedence. If the user and group permissions conflict, the user permissions takes precedence. If you choose to disable folder inheritance for a folder, then it will no longer inherit permissions from its parent folder.

 

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community .