Version Pruning

Many accounts limit how many versions are kept before they're moved to trash. If multiple versions were created by the same person on the same device (e.g., clicking Save after every edit) within a short amount of time, these versions would quickly pile up and push relevant versions to the trash prematurely. Even if you make a higher number of versions available to users or have infinite trash enabled on the domain, your storage is being used up by keeping too many (almost identical) versions of the same file. Finding the correct version when researching changes would become tedious, if not impossible, due to the sheer number of similar versions to sift through.

To help keep your version count down, Egnyte employs version pruning to automatically purge some of these versions from the system. You can learn more about version pruning below.

How Does it Work?

When the same person from the same device saves a file multiple times within a 10-minute window, all of the versions are initially saved as a version in Egnyte. Every so often, Egnyte will prune (remove) the intermediary versions created within the window and only keep the last version and those created outside the 10-minute window. The pruning process does the same for other older versions of the file.

The algorithm will not delete any new file versions uploaded with a timestamp set in the past.

If another edit to the file is made later (outside the 10-minute window), a new version will be created.

Although these intermediary versions aren't kept as a version in Egnyte, they are still tracked for reporting and auditing purposes.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community .