Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Managing and Using Trash in Egnyte

Follow

While collaborating on the content in Egnyte, you often need to delete unwanted documents, restore the documents that were deleted before, or even sometimes permanently delete the unwanted documents sitting in the trash for longer.

Egnyte supports all your trash management needs to ensure that your content is safe and secure while optimizing the storage cost.  

Skip Ahead to...

Manage Trash and Retention Policies

Delete Files and Folders

Restore Files and Folders

Permanently Delete Files and Folders

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Manage Trash and Retention Policies

The domain admins can setup various trash and retention policies like file version policy to define how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to trash, trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash, user settings to define if they want to let their users view and restore items they've deleted, etc. Refer to Trash and Retention Policy Settings for more details on how these policies work and how the admin can set them up and have peace of mind while the users collaborate. 

Delete Files and Folders

The users often come across unwanted documents that they want to get rid of to keep the storage clean and organized. In Egnyte, the users with Full or Owner permission can select and delete unwanted files and folders and in turn, move them in the Trash folder. Refer to Delete Files and Folders for more details on how the user can delete the files and folders.   

Restore Files and Folders

As a safeguard against accidental deletion, Egnyte provides an option to the users to restore the files and folders from the Trash folder before it is permanently deleted. Note this option is available only if the domain admin has configured the domain to let the users restore the content that they delete.  Refer to Restore Files and Folders from Trash for more details on how users can restore content from the Trash folder

Permanently Delete Files and Folders

Even when the deleted files and folders are sitting in the Trash folder, it still consumes the storage and hence it costs money. The deleted files and folders are needed to be kept in the Trash folder for some duration according to the trash retention policy to allow for restoring the same in case it was deleted accidentally. Sometimes, for some obvious reasons, the admins might want to manually purge (permanently delete) the content from the Trash folder. Only the admin of the domain can manually purge the data (delete it permanently) from the Trash folder

However, in some cases, the default retention period may be set through content lifecycle policies in Secure & Govern, then it is not possible to delete the data from the Trash folder.

Refer to Permanently Delete Files and Folders for more details on how admins can permanently delete the content from the Trash folder

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Are Users Able to Delete Unwanted Files and Folders in Egnyte?

Yes, the users with Owner and Full permissions to a folder are allowed to delete unwanted files and folders within that folder in Egnyte.

Which Privileged Users are Allowed to Delete Files and Folders in Egnyte?

The users with Owner and Full permissions to a folder are allowed to delete files and folders within that folder in Egnyte.

Which Files and Folders are Visible to Me?

Power Users can only view trash content they've deleted. Admins can view the trash content for the entire account. 

What Happens to the Deleted Files and Folders?

The deleted files and folders are moved into the Trash folder. The files and folders in the Trash folder are retained according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin. The files and folders then get permanently deleted.

How Long are the Deleted Files and Folders Retained in the Trash Folder?

The files and folders in the Trash folder are retained according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin. 

Will the Files and Folders in the Trash Folder Ever Be Deleted Permanently?

Yes, the deleted files and folders in the Trash folder will be permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy. In some cases, the default retention period may be set through content lifecycle policies in Secure & Govern, then it is not possible to permanently delete the data in the Trash folder

I am the Domain Admin. Why is the Permanently Delete Option Disabled for Me?

In some cases, the default retention period may be set through content lifecycle policies in Secure & Govern, then it is not possible to permanently delete the data in the Trash folder. In such cases, the Delete Permanently option will be greyed out. 

What If I Accidentally Delete Some Files and Folders?

The deleted files and folders are retained in the Trash folder according to the trash retention policy configured by the domain admin. Until the deleted files and folders are in the Trash folder, you can always restore them in case they were deleted accidentally provided the admin has configured to let the users restore the items from the Trash folder. You can reach out to your admin to restore the files and folders in case you cannot restore them yourself. 

I Do Not See an Option to Restore the Files I Deleted Accidentally. What Do I Do?

You can reach out to your admin to restore the files and folders in case you cannot restore them yourself. Note that the files and folders from the Trash folder can be restored until they are permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy.

Is There a Way to Restore Deleted Files that are Permanently Deleted from the Trash Folder?

No, the files and folders from the Trash can be restored until they are permanently deleted either manually by the admin or by the trash retention policy.

What Happens to Folder Permissions After it is Restored from the Trash Folder?

When a Power User restores a folder, the original permissions are always restored. Admins who restore folders from the trash are given an option on whether to restore the original permissions of the folder or to use the permissions of the parent folder. 

Who Can Configure the Trash Management Policies and Settings?

The domain admins can setup various trash and retention policies like file version policy to define how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to trash, trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash, and user settings to define if they want to let their users view and restore items they've deleted.

As a Domain Admin, What Different Trash Management Policies and Settings I Can Configure for My Domain?

The domain admins can setup various trash and retention policies like file version policy to define how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to trash, trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash, and user settings to define if they want to let their users view and restore items they've deleted.

What is File Version Policy and How It Helps Manage the Storage?

The domain admins can set up the file version policy to define how many versions of a file are kept before older ones are automatically moved to the Trash folder

What is the Trash Purge Setting and How It Helps Manage the Storage?

The domain admins can set up the trash purge settings to define how long to retain the deleted content in the trash. 

What is the Maximum Duration for Which the Files and Folders in the Trash can be Retained Using the Trash Purge Setting?

Files remain in the Trash folder for 30 days by default and can stay in the Trash folder for up to 180 days. When determining how long to set the retention policy, keep in mind that once the trash is purged, it cannot be restored. 

Do I Get Any Opportunity to Review the Trash Before it is Purged (Deleted Permanently)?

Admins can enable a notification, so they have time before trash is purged to review the contents and ensure nothing has been deleted erroneously. 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.