The Links dashboard provides a central place to view and manage share links in Egnyte. Users can easily switch between All Links, Shared With Me, and Shared By Me, filter links by path or status, and review details such as who shared a link, who can access it, when it expires, and how often it has been viewed.
From the dashboard, users can quickly view the link, copy or open a link, go to its folder, update expiration settings, and export or remove links.
- This feature is available to domains that have file sharing via share links and/or upload links turned on and available to their users.
- It is turned on by default but there is the option to turn it off. Click here to learn more about Share Settings.
Skip Ahead To...
Navigation
All Links
Shared With Me
Shared By Me
Filter and Search Options
Link Details
Link Actions - Copy, Open, Go to Folder
Export Links
Remove Links
Quick View
Customize Links Dashboard View
Manage Expired Links
Navigation
The Links dashboard includes all share links on the domain. This includes both upload and share links. Click Links in the left menu to view the dashboard.
Links contain both links that a user has Shared and Received. Direct Links are not included in this dashboard.
If all the link sharing options are disabled, Links Dashboard shows up as an option in the left menu; however, it displays the following message when opened.
All Links
The tab displays all the active and expired links on the domain. This is available only for admins.
The following columns show up for the links shared.
| Column | Description |
| Linked Item Name | Provides the folder or file name and shows whether the link has expired or been disabled. Clicking on the file will open the item in Egnyte. Hovering the mouse over the item also provides the full path for the item. |
| Shared By | Name of the User who has shared the link |
| Type | Link type as Upload or Share |
| Created | Date when the link was created |
| Link Access |
Provides details about Link type (Public, Private, Existing Users, etc) This information will be represented using the following icons. |
| Link Expires | Date of expiration of the link |
| Views | Number of views |
| Last access | Date and timestamp when the link was last accessed by any user viewing the link. |
Shared With Me
The Shared With Me tab shows active or expired links and does not display links that have been deleted. The user can filter results by the Status as Any (default), Active Links or Expired Links.
The filters at the top include the Status filter. Column-level filters and the option to search for linked item is also available.
Shared By Me
Users can view the active and expired links shared by them. The Shared By column is not available in this tab. The filters at the top include the Status filter. Column-level filters and the option to search for linked item is also available.
Filter and Search Options
Users can filter all links by the filters at the top:
- By Path: Filter by any (default) or a specific path
- Status: Filter by any (default), active, or expired links
Users can search for a linked item by typing the search keyword. They can also use column-level filters to view specific links.
Link Details
The user can hover over the link to access the Details option. They can also click on the three-dots icon -> Details to view the link details. The link details are displayed with the option to Copy link, Open link, Go to Folder, and Remove Link. Link overview, properties, and views are displayed as Details.
For file links, Quick View is also available as a tab for the users to quickly view the link.
Users can click on Edit to make changes in the editable link properties. For example, they can change the expiration date or enable notifications on link access. Click on Save.
For links shared with selected people, there is an additional option in link details to Manage Access.
Click on Revoke/Restore to revoke/restore access of a specific recipient.
Bulk restore/revoke link actions can also be taken from the dropdown.
Link Actions - Copy, Open, Go to Folder
Click on the three-dots icon or open the link details to Copy Link, Open Link, or to Go to folder.
The Open Link option is disabled for expired links.
Export Links
- The links that are visible on the dashboard can be exported as a CSV file by clicking on Export all links in the All Links tab.
- Users can click on the three-dots icon -> Export or select links and click on Export to export the selected links.
- If the users have selected all the links on a page, they get the option to select all the links at the top. They can choose to select all and Export.
- If the user has applied certain filters, they get the option to export all links or filtered links.
- The link summary report will be downloaded on the user’s system in .TSV format.
Remove Links
The Links Dashboard provides the ability to delete the desired link(s). Click on the three-dots icon -> Remove or Select multiple links and click on Remove.
It is not possible to remove more than 10,000 links at once. If user would try to do it, they would see the following message:
Quick View
Users can also quickly view the file links shared or received.
- Click on the Quick view icon and the file will open in quick view.
Customize Links Dashboard View
Click on the gear icon at the top-right to customize the view. Users can choose to show or hide the desired columns, set the order of columns by moving them up or down, and lock first column on horizontal scroll. They can click on Reset to go back to the default view.
Manage Expired Links
To view and manage the expired share links, navigate to the links dashboard . Expired links have an Expired indicator in the Item name. The user can also filter the links to view only the Expired links.
Once a link in Egnyte has expired, it continues to be listed to allow the link owner to extend the life of the link by updating its expiration settings.
Link owners have 90 days after the expiration date to make these changes and if there are no changes after the designated time frame, the expired links will be deleted permanently.
To Manage the Expired Link
- Hover over or click on the three-dots icon and click on Details
- Click on Edit in Properties. Change the expiration date and click on Save.
- Expired links will become active again when the link expiry date has been updated.