When you share a link using Egnyte, you can opt to receive an email notification when your link is accessed. However, in certain situations, public shared links that you send may be pre-validated by 3rd-party automated systems which will result in you receiving a notification before your recipient has actually clicked the link. Note that this applies only to links shared with “Anyone” level access.
Don’t be alarmed if you see a spurious email notification indicating link access from an unknown IP address or location — these notifications can be triggered by a number of factors. For example, you will see this behavior with some email services (e.g. Yahoo, Outlook.com), social networks like Facebook or Twitter, messaging apps (e.g. Skype) and certain mail client integrations (e.g. anti-virus software) that you or your recipient may employ.
If you wish to prevent 3rd-party systems from accessing Egnyte links, you can choose to share links with a password (“Anyone with password” access level). Automated systems won’t be able to access the link since they don’t have the password.
Contact us if you have any additional questions.