Egnyte makes it easy to keep your links secure. You can make the link public (accessible by anyone) or private (only accessible by people who are users in your Egnyte account), add a password, and more. All of these settings are available after clicking the Change link options when creating a new link. There are also settings under General that Admins can change to control the default options for links.
Skip Ahead to...
When you're creating a new link to share with someone outside of your Egnyte account, you'll need to create a Public Link. Choose Anyone from the Who will have access? drop-down.
If you want to share a Public File Link that is secured with a password, select Anyone with a password instead. Egnyte generates a strong password for you to use, but you can delete this and type in your own password.
You'll need to send the password to your link recipient in a separate message, even if you use the password Egnyte generates.
If you select the <Your Egnyte Account> users option, the link will be inaccessible to anybody who is not a user (Admin, Power, or Standard User) in your Egnyte account. If the recipient is not already logged-in to the Egnyte account, they will need to do so to view the link.
If you select the <Your Egnyte Account> users I email this link to option, the link will only be accessible to a user from your Egnyte account that you specify in the Email Addresses field. This means that even if someone from your Egnyte account finds the link, they won’t be able to access it unless they were specified when the link was created.
If you use this option, you won’t be able to copy and paste the link or send it using your own mail client. Egnyte needs to know the list of recipients in order to restrict access accordingly.
Additional Security Options
Whether you choose to use a Private or Public Link, you can use these additional security measures to make your link even safer:
- Let your link expire after a certain date.
- Have the link expire after it has been clicked more than a few times.
Use this if you know that your recipient will only need to look at the file once or a few times.
- Receive an email every time somebody clicks your link.
- Only allow users to preview the file.
This option is not available when sharing a folder link.
Account Administrators can do a few things at the account and folder level to ensure that links are being shared safely and restrict their users from making changes to certain settings. Most of these settings are controlled from the Configuration settings tab under the Sharing section of General settings.
Administrators can decide whether their users are allowed to utilize the file and folder links. If file and folder links are allowed, Administrators can choose which types of links to allow and set a default type. Admins can also set a default and maximum link expiration for file and folder links.
Finally, administrators (or folder owners) can also adjust whether public links are allowed at any folder level. Just navigate to the desired folder, select Folder Details & Options from the More drop-down.
Select the Options tab and choose from the following options:
- Users can send public links to files and any sub-folders.
- Users can send public links to files only.
- All public links are prohibited for the folder's contents.