Sync for offline access with the Desktop App

Overview

The Egnyte Connect Desktop App includes a feature that allows users to sync selected folders for offline access. Admins can enable or disable the feature for Admins or Admins and Power Users on the domain (see the Enable sync for the Desktop App section below for more information).

Enable Sync for the Desktop App

To enable the feature, head to Settings and go to the Configuration tab. On the left, select Applications and scroll down to the Desktop section. Click the drop-down next to Allow users to sync folders for offline access, make the appropriate selection, and click Save.

DA_enable_sync.png

Within 15 minutes of enabling the feature, users with drives connected to the domain will shave access to this feature. When they are using the Desktop App, they will right click on the folder they want to sync and click Sync for offline access. If the feature is disabled, any local copies of synchronized folders on user's machines will be removed and users will no longer see the option to sync for offline access.

sync.jpg 


Enable the ability to sync for specific roles with role based administration

If you enable the ability to sync for Admins only or None of your users from the applications tab, you can still choose to enable the feature for specific Admin or Power User Roles. This is particularly useful if you only want to enable the feature for a subset of users in your organization. To do this, navigate back to the Configuration tab and select the User Types & Roles section. Make sure you select the Roles option so you can add a new role or edit an existing role.

DA_role.png

Once the role is created, select the role from the list and scroll down to the Applications section. Change the Role Name users can sync folders for offline access with the Desktop App option to Enabled and click Save.

DA_enable_role.png

Known Behaviors and Limitations

The feature has the following known limitations:

  • If you select a folder for sync, you cannot exclude any of its child folders from sync.
  • Moving content between folders marked for sync and folders that are not marked for sync is not currently allowed. Copying, however, is allowed.

When it comes to preserving unsynchronized content, the following behaviors apply:

  • When you remove your drive or unsync a folder, any unsynchronized files will moved to a folder on your desktop.
  • When you uninstall the app, synchronized content will remain inside the %localappdata%\EgnyteDrive\offline folder.

 

 

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community .