The Egnyte Desktop App includes a feature that allows users to sync selected folders for offline access, so they can always access pertinent information. A copy of these files are stored locally on the device, and any changes made while offline are automatically synced back to the cloud once an internet connection is re-established.
Admins can enable Offline Access by following the instructions in this article.
Skip Ahead to...
Sync for Offline Access
List of Offline Folders in Application UI
Known Behaviors and Limitations
Force Offline mode
Additional Resources
Sync for Offline Access
Open the Desktop App drive (or volume) from Window's File Explorer or Mac's Finder.
Windows
- Right click on the folder and select Egnyte.
- Select Sync for offline access from the Egnyte Actions context menu.
Desktop App Core for Mac
- Right click on the folder and select More Egnyte Actions….
- Select Sync for offline access from the Egnyte Actions context menu.
If this feature is not visible, the Administrator has disabled the sync option. Please reach out to them for additional information.
List of Offline Folders in Application UI
A list of offline folders can be viewed in the Application UI.
Windows
- Go to Settings > Offline Folders tab.
Desktop App Core for Mac
- Go to Sync & Storage > Offline Folders tab.
Known Behaviors and Limitations
The feature has the following known limitations:
-
Users can sync a folder and exclude any of its subfolders from syncing, with the following limitations:
- Renaming excluded folders or any of their parent folders is only allowed when connected to the internet.
- Excluded folders can’t be moved to different folders on the Desktop App. The Web UI can be used as an alternative.
- Moving content between folders marked for sync and folders that are not marked for sync is not currently allowed in the Desktop App. However, copying or moving the folder through the web UI is allowed.
- The maximum number of files a user can sync for offline access is 500,000 per user on the machine.
When it comes to preserving unsynchronized content, the following behaviors apply:
- When a drive is removed or a folder is unsynced, any unsynchronized files are moved to a folder on the desktop.
- When the app is uninstalled, synchronized content will remain inside the
"%localappdata%\Egnyte Connect\offline folder".
Force Offline mode
In Desktop App for Windows, it is possible to Go offline and effectively stop all synchronization without having to disconnect the internet.
To do this, users need to go to their Profile section in bottom left corner of Desktop App Interface and click Go offline
To resume normal operations, users may click Go Online in the Home Tab or in Profile section.
Going offline is currently unavailable for Desktop App Core for Mac.
Additional Resources
Ready for more? Use the resources below to keep learning about the Desktop App.
Learn more about Syncing for offline access by watching a Quick Tip on Egnyte University: Syncing for offline access