Audience

Any user of Migration App.

 

This product is currently in Limited Availability. We invite any Customers interested in using the product to engage Egnyte Professional Services or their Customer Success Manager to have it enabled for their domain. 

Context

Jobs are considered in conflict if they share the same destination with one or more existing migration jobs. When jobs are in conflict, you may not proceed to migrate data until the Confluence feature has been enabled for the jobs. 

 

Activating Confluence on a Job

Enabling the Confluence feature for the jobs in conflict is handled directly in the User Interface from the migration details page. 

  1. From the Migration Dashboard, click on the three-dot menu for the job in question. Click on Details to navigate to the migration details page.

    1migdash.png  
  2. Click on Advanced Options from the left-hand column on the migration details page. This will reveal multiple options. Click on Confluence.

    2migdets.png

  3. Click to toggle Enable Confluence to ON.

    confl.png

  4. Click the Save button and then click Migration details in the left column to return to the main details view.
  5. Here, you can confirm that Confluence is now enabled for the job by looking in the right-hand column under Other Details.

    4migdash.png

You will now be able to proceed with migration operations for this job.

Considerations

  • If Job 1 shares the same destination with Job 2, but Job 1 has been completed and will not be run in the future, you do not need Confluence enabled for Job 1. Only jobs that you plan to continue using (and share a destination with prior jobs) require Confluence.
  • It is possible that different Migration Operators may create conflicting jobs. If more than one user is running migrations, you may need to coordinate with them to confirm that you are not in conflict.
  • Confluence is designed to allow two different sources to merge into a single destination folder. It is not designed to allow two jobs to run concurrently with BOTH the same source and the same destination. If you need to recreate a job that has previously run, you must delete the first job to avoid problematic behavior.
  • If you plan to run a Migration Job with destination /Shared/XYZ and that destination already has content in it, you need to turn Confluence ON before beginning the Migration Job. This will allow you to target that destination for the initial Data Migration and subsequent True-Ups without deleting the content originally contained therein.
  • Confluence should be enabled any time there is a common destination and:
    • Multiple Migration Jobs are used to push content to that destination. Jobs may be all tied to the same Agent but with a different source path. Jobs may also be initiated by different Migration Operators. In any case, they all need to have Confluence enabled.
    • Migration App is being used in addition to direct uploads by users via Desktop App or Web UI to add content to the destination. 

 

Questions? Feature Requests? Other Feedback?

If you have feature suggestions or requests, feel free to submit them here, and make sure you mention Migration App in the text.

For more complex requests that would benefit from providing screenshots or other attachments, you may submit them to support@egnyte.com. Be sure to include Migration App in the email title. Our Support team will push your comments to the Product team for consideration.