Audience

Any user of the Migration App.

This product is currently in Beta. We invite any Customers interested in joining the Beta program to engage Egnyte Professional Services or their Customer Success Manager for consideration.

Migration Data and True-up FAQs

Q: What's the difference between Migrating Data and running a True-Up?

A: The first time you run a fresh migration job where no data exists on the destination, Migration App copies the data from the source to the destination. Any subsequent data migration is a True-Up. But in the UI, both actions use the Migrate Data button.

 

Q: How do I run a True-Up?

A: The current Migration App user interface doesn't provide a visual distinction between the initial Data Migration and subsequent True-Ups. You click the button "Migrate Data" in both cases. But they do behave differently. If there is any content on the destination, Migration App will perform a True-Up, which synchronizes or mirrors the source and the destination. It does so through a four-step process:

  1. It first scans the source.
  2. It then scans the destination.
  3. Next, it compares the source and the destination to build a table of Deltas - anything that's new, deleted, or has been changed on the source.
  4. Finally, it migrates the Deltas to the destination. It is important to note that this includes, by default, deleting any files on the destination that no longer exist on the source, AKA "Syncing Deletes."

Note that only in Step 4 does the Migration Job dashboard provide an estimated time of completion. This may be confusing since the command can run for an extended period without showing any progress. We are working on improvements to the User Interface to provide better visibility into where a given Migration Job is in the process, as well as the ability to control whether or not to "Sync Deletes."

 

Q: If I re-run a migration job to True-up data, does it create duplicates of what was already copied previously?

A: The Migrate Data command does not per se create duplicates. But there are some considerations to keep in mind. Let’s look at a couple of different scenarios when running Migration App for True-ups:

  • If a file is exactly the same at both the Source and the Destination, Migration App checks the size and mtime (mtime is a file attribute that records the time and date a file was last modified) of the file at destination and does not re-send.
  • However, if a user renames or moves a folder to a different location on the Source, Migration App creates the new folder at the destination and does not delete the old folder. That's when you get into a duplication scenario.
  • Alternatively, if a user deletes a folder on the source that has already been migrated, the next time Migration App runs, it will delete that folder on the destination. That’s because the Migration App is mirroring the two locations.

 

Q: For True-ups, what explains the discrepancy between the amount of data scanned on the source versus the amount of data migrated? What accounts for the discrepancy in the migrated data?

A: When you do a true-up, only the deltas will report as migrated. For example, you might have 90TB on the source, but only 20TB is new or changed. So only 20TB needs to be migrated as part of the True-Up or synchronization process. We recognize this creates some confusion and look forward to improving our user interface as our product matures.