What is on-demand archiving and deletion?

Secure and Govern users can now archive and delete folders directly from the Content Lifecycle view for content that requires immediate action outside of any defined policies. Providing the on-demand actions allows the user to manage their data at specified times (e.g., maintenance windows) and allows for immediate cleanup during active projects.

How to use on-demand archiving

  • From the Content Lifecycle page, select the folder that you want to archive.
  • The Archive Folder button will be available at the top right of the page.

Archive_button.png

  • After clicking the Archive Folder button, you will be provided a window to configure the archive. The required fields are:
    • Job Name
    • Archive Domain
    • Archive Destination
  •  
  • Click the Archive button to begin the archival process.

Archive_job_options.png

You will receive a confirmation that the archiving job has been started.

Archiving_started.png

Folders that have Active jobs will be indicated by a progress wheel.

Archive_in_progress.png

Status can be shown under Settings -> Content Lifecycle -> On-demand Migrations & Archiving Jobs.

Completed_job_list.png

How to use on-demand deletion

  • From the Content Lifecycle page, select the folder that you want to archive.
  • The Delete Folder button will be available at the top right of the page.

Delete_buttons.png

  • After clicking the Delete Folder button, you will be provided a confirmation window to validate that you want to delete the selected folder.
  • Click Start Deleting to begin the job.

Delete_confirmation.png

Folders that have Active jobs will be indicated by a progress wheel.

Delete_in_progress.png

You will receive an email once a deletion job has been completed.

Deletion_email.png

FAQ

Q: Are there limitations on using on-demand jobs?

A: Jobs are limited in size to 5 million files and 5TB of data. Jobs larger than that will need to be split. Only 5 jobs can be run concurrently.

 

Q: What folders can be specified for on-demand jobs?

A: For archival, you can select any folder(s) listed under your content sources. For deletion, you cannot delete the top-level Shared folder but can delete any folders under that.

 

Q: Do files deleted using on-demand still fall under retention policies?

A: Yes, deleted files will remain in the trash until retention expires, just like if they were deleted any other way.

 

Learn more about On-demand archive and delete quick start by watching a Quick Tip on Egnyte University: On Demand Archive and Delete