Elevate Your Egnyte Expertise. Join our Customer Community to connect with a network of peers and share game-changing strategies. Join Today

Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Community Contact Support

Configuring user management through Active Directory with AD Kit

AD Kit can add, deactivate, and delete users in Egnyte based on their Active Directory status. The below article covers the basics of such configuration for the sync_users action. 

Adding users to Egnyte with AD Kit

AD Kit can add to Egnyte users that are:

  • created in the Active Directory,
  • added to the OU.

This is managed by the allow_create setting in the directory_service.ini file. If the setting is set to True, then any user in your directory service but not in your Egnyte domain will be created.

Deleting Egnyte users with AD Kit

AD Kit can delete in Egnyte users that are:

  • deleted in the Active Directory,
  • removed from OU,
  • disabled in the Active Directory.

This is managed by the combination of allow_delete and delete_disabled_users settings in the directory_service.ini file.

Deactivating Egnyte users with AD Kit

AD Kit can deactivate Egnyte users that are disabled in the Active Directory.

This is managed by the combination of allow_delete and delete_disabled_users settings in the directory_service.ini file.

Users deleting and deactivating examples

Active DirectoryThe expected result in EgnyteNotes
User is DisabledNo changesThis is possible with add_users action instead of sync_users.
User gets Deactivated

allow_delete=False

or

allow_delete=True
delete_disabled_users=False

User gets Deletedallow_delete=True
delete_disabled_users=True
User is DeletedNo changesallow_delete=False
User gets DeactivatedThis is not possible with AD Kit.
User gets Deletedallow_delete=True 

Users removed from the OU are treated as Deleted. 

ManagedByADKit Column in User Export

When exporting users from your Egnyte domain, you may notice a ManagedByADKit column in the CSV export. This column indicates whether a user is managed and provisioned through ADKit.

  • Yes: the user is managed by ADKit and their account lifecycle (creation, updates, deactivation) is controlled through Active Directory sync.
  • No or blank: the user is not managed by ADKit.

You can also update this value by editing the column in the exported CSV and reimporting it, which allows you to change whether a user is managed by ADKit regardless of how their account was originally created.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.