If you still have questions about the Role-based Access feature, check out the frequently asked questions below.
Can a User have multiple roles at the same time?
No, a user can only have one role assigned to them at a time.
What role is assigned to my users if I don’t create a role by myself?
Egnyte Protect has two built-in roles, Admin and Basic User, which cannot be deleted. All Secure and Govern users are assigned the Basic Admin role unless specified otherwise.
What kind of access does an Admin role have?
A user with the Admin role has full access to Secure and Govern. They can see all issues and sensitive content in an unredacted form and can change all Secure and Govern settings.
Why can’t I change the settings for the Admin and Basic User role?
Admin and Basic User roles are built-in roles are set by default and cannot be edited or deleted. You can create a new role with the desired access level and assign it to your users.