Renaming a synced folder as an Admin or Power User with full permissions on the cloud

Renaming a folder that is configured for sync to a Turbo device will deselect the folder and respective sub-folders from being synced to Turbo until the next sync cycle.

Canonical renaming a synced folder using Egnyte Connect Desktop App

Renaming a folder that is configured for sync to a Turbo device to its canonical variant will result in an empty folder listing on Mac clients.

Administrative User password change

Changing the password of the Admin/service account user in the cloud will invalidate the auth token and will require Administrators to reauthorize the the Turbo device to get Turbo back to working state. Administrators are recommended to follow the best practice and use service accounts and avoid changing passwords.

Support for Turbo in China

Turbo requires communication to Google for a variety of reasons and therefore is not supported in China.

Degraded performance on Hyper-V with Broadcom adapters

Hyper-V virtual machines of Turbo (VMs) hosted on Windows Server 2012 (R2) server may exhibit slow network performance if Broadcom network adapters are installed in the host. This can happen if Virtual Machine Queue (VMQ) is enabled on the physical network adapter used by the VMs.

The known workaround is to disable VMQ on the affected network adapters or change the MAC addresses of the corresponding virtual switches. However, it is possible that Broadcom has released an update to fix the issue since this article was written. Therefore, the first step in troubleshooting the issue should be to ensure that the Broadcom adapter driver and firmware are up to date on the Hyper-V host.

Folder move operation

Folder move operations between synced and un-synced folders when a Desktop App client is Turbo connected is not supported in this version of the release. Users shall experience the following symptoms while trying these operations. 

Scenario 1: 

Moving a sub-folder that is synced to Turbo under a folder that is in Egnyte using Egnyte Connect Desktop Application (Folder synced to Turbo  -> Folder in Egnyte)

Symptom: User is prompted with a Move Failed for Audit Test message.

Scenario 2: 

Moving a sub-folder that is in Egnyte to a folder that is synced to Turbo using Egnyte Connect Desktop Application (Folder to Egnyte  -> Folder synced to Turbo)

Symptom: In very rare scenario’s where there are a lot of sub-folders/files under the moved folder it can a few seconds or minutes for the folder to synchronize down to Turbo and be visible to the user.

Turbo in Offline Mode

Turbo can operate even when it loses network connection with the cloud. Desktop App users can continue to open and modify files on the Turbo device and all their file operations get saved to Turbo. Turbo in Offline Mode serves lock requests locally so that it allows one and only one user to modify a file at a given time. File and folder modifications are synchronized with the cloud when network connectivity to the cloud is restored. 

For security reasons, Desktop App users can connect to Turbo up to 24 hours of network downtime. 

Maximum number of users supported

Turbo supports a maximum of 100 concurrent users per device at any time.