Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Handling Files with Future Timestamp during Migration

Follow

When a non-Windows server is mounted on a Windows server, certain files or folders might have future dates assigned to their timestamps. This can occasionally cause the Migration App to encounter anomalies during synchronization or copying processes, resulting in the error message "files are skipped due to future timestamp." The issue commonly arises during system-to-system file transfers when Windows fails to adjust the timestamps correctly. This feature is designed to handle and resolve such issues.

Feature description

Egnyte allows its users to decide how future timestamps will behave during migration. The users can either exclude files with future timestamps or modify the timestamps on the source files to the present.

By default, data with a future timestamp is skipped from the migration process. The user can choose to change this behavior before they start migrating the data.

Options to Specify the Behavior of Future Timestamps

The user can specify the behavior of future timestamps after the scan completes. They can select their choice in:

  1. Data migration options before starting copy or sync.

  1. Advanced options -> Future timestamp

  1. The user will also get these options while scheduling the migration job.

The user has two choices for selecting the behavior of future timestamps.

  • Future timestamp data exclusion (Default): If the user selects "No" in the Data migration options pop-up, the data with future timestamps will be skipped from the migration process. The same will apply if this choice is made in Scheduler/Advanced options -> Future Timestamp.
  • Future timestamp data adjustment to present time: If the user selects Yes in Data migration options pop-up, the source data will be modified to the present time. The same will be applicable if this choice is made in Scheduler/Advanced options -> Future Timestamp.

 

  • If the user decides to change the default behavior and if the migration job fails for any reason, the source data will still be modified to the present time, and it will not be possible to revert to the original timestamps.
  • The user cannot change their choice once they select and save it.
  • The option selected in data migration options will reflect under Advanced options -> Future Timestamp and vice versa.

 

True-up Options and Future Timestamps

If the user decides to change the default behavior of future timestamps, they will be notified in the true-up options pop-up.

This will also show up in Advanced options -> Future timestamp.

Similarly, if the user decides not to change the default behavior of the future timestamp, the true-up options pop-up and Advanced options -> Future Timestamp will show the same.

 

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.