Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Migration App - Sync Deletes Warning and Other UI Improvements

Follow

External Release Notes: Migration App Agent v3.35 / Control Plane v1.37 (February 13, 2024)

New Features and Enhancements

Sync Deletes Warning

Some customers reported unexpected data deletion when running True-Ups. Although the app is performing as designed, the data deletion can be an unintended result of users restructuring (moving, renaming, or deleting) data without the knowledge of the Migration Operator.

To address this, we have implemented a notification and confirmation process if the system identifies multiple deletions during the scan prior to a True-Up. 

On the UI, the following warning message is displayed:

Migration App_Release 1-29-24_3.png

In addition, an email is also sent to the Migration Operator providing similar messaging.

Subject: Important Review and Approval Required for Synchronized Deletions - Migration ID: [Migration ID]

This is an important message to inform you that the migration job [Migration ID] for domain domain.egnyte.com has been temporarily paused.

The True-Up command will not proceed due to the system detecting an unusual number of deletions. This means that we detected more deletions than expected on the source. If allowed to proceed, these items will be deleted on the destination.  
In order to maintain the integrity of your data and ensure the accuracy of the migration, we kindly request your immediate attention in reviewing the deletions scheduled.

To facilitate this review, we have generated a list of files scheduled for deletion. You can access and review the list by clicking on the following link: Review Files.

Once you have thoroughly examined the files:

  • If you are confident in proceeding with synchronized deletion, please confirm and approve by navigating to the migration job from the Migration Dashboard.  
    OR
  • If you determine the files should NOT be deleted, navigate to the migration job and stop the command. We recommend you then opt out of Sync Deletes in Advanced Options. You may then restart the True-Up.

Your swift response is crucial in ensuring the seamless continuation of the True-Up process.

Once the Migration Operator has responded, the job will either resume as configured (and the data will be deleted), or with Sync Deletes disabled, the True-Up can be restarted without deleting the data.

Additional Information and Resources

Estimating Migration Duration

Confirming Sync Deletes During True-Up

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.