External Release Notes: Migration App Agent v3.25 / Control Plane v1.27 (January 31, 24)
New Features and Enhancements
Estimate Migration Duration
Migration Operators can now estimate Migration Duration through the UI. Estimate Migration Duration is a link on the Migration Dashboard next to Settings. Clicking this exposes a dialog box to collect input from the user.
Once the data is entered and the user clicks Submit, the Estimated Duration for Scan and Data Migration is displayed.
Initially, this feature will be in limited availability, and can be enabled for any domain by request.
Sync Deletes Warning
Some customers reported unexpected data deletion when running True-Ups. Although the app is performing as designed, the data deletion can be an unintended result of users restructuring (moving or renaming or deleting) data without the knowledge of the Migration Operator.
To address this, we have implemented a notification and confirmation process if the system identifies multiple deletions during the scan prior to a True-Up.
On the UI, the following warning message is displayed.
In addition, an email is also sent to the Migration Operator providing similar messaging.
Subject: Important Review and Approval Required for Synchronized Deletions - Migration ID: [Migration ID]
This is an important message to inform you that the migration job [Migration ID] for domain domain.egnyte.com has been temporarily paused.
The True-Up command will not proceed due to the system detecting an unusual number of deletions. This means that we detected more deletions than expected on the source. If allowed to proceed, these items will be deleted on the destination.
In order to maintain the integrity of your data and ensure the accuracy of the migration, we kindly request your immediate attention in reviewing the deletions scheduled.
To facilitate this review, we have generated a list of files scheduled for deletion. You can access and review the list by clicking on the following link: Review Files.
Once you have thoroughly examined the files:
- If you are confident in proceeding with synchronized deletion, please confirm and approve by navigating to the migration job from the Migration Dashboard.
- If you determine the files should NOT be deleted, navigate to the migration job and stop the command. We recommend you then opt out of Sync Deletes in Advanced Options. You may then restart the True-Up.
Your swift response is crucial in ensuring the seamless continuation of the True-Up process.
Once the Migration Operator has responded, the job will either resume as configured (and the data will be deleted), or with Sync Deletes disabled, the True-Up can be restarted without deleting the data.