Any user of Migration App.
Whenever you run a True-Up, the default behavior of Migration App is to Sync Deletes. This means that if data was originally copied to Egnyte but has since been deleted from the Source, when you run a True-Up command the data will also be deleted from Egnyte. As a reminder, you can always opt out of Syncing Deletes.
Confirming Sync Deletes
Occasionally, customers have experienced unexpected data deletion during a migration. Files and folders that were originally migrated end up being deleted from Egnyte during True-Ups. This is the expected behavior, as a migration tool is designed to mirror the source and destination. So if the files or folders had been deleted from the source, they should also be deleted from the destination. But this isn’t always what the customer wants or expects to happen.
To help customers achieve the desired outcome, we have provided multiple ways to opt out of Syncing Deletes. But even so, data deletion can come up unexpectedly so we designed a way to help avoid any surprises.
If multiple deletions are identified during a scan for a True-Up, the job is paused and a warning message is displayed on the Migration Details page and an email is sent to the Migration Operator.
The warning message:
Subject: Important Review and Approval Required for Synchronized Deletions - Migration ID: [Migration ID]
This is an important message to inform you that the migration job [Migration ID] for domain domain.egnyte.com has been temporarily paused.
The True-Up command will not proceed due to the system detecting an unusual number of deletions. This means that we detected more deletions than expected on the source. If allowed to proceed, these items will be deleted on the destination.
In order to maintain the integrity of your data and ensure the accuracy of the migration, we kindly request your immediate attention in reviewing the deletions scheduled.
To facilitate this review, we have generated a list of files scheduled for deletion. You can access and review the list by clicking on the following link: Review Files.
Once you have thoroughly examined the files:
- If you are confident in proceeding with synchronized deletion, please confirm and approve by navigating to the migration job from the Migration Dashboard.
- If you determine the files should NOT be deleted, navigate to the migration job and stop the command. We recommend you then opt out of Sync Deletes in Advanced Options. You may then restart the True-Up.
Your swift response is crucial in ensuring the seamless continuation of the True-Up process.
Once the Migration Operator has responded, the job will either resume as configured (and the data will be deleted), or with Sync Deletes disabled, the True-Up can be restarted without deleting the data.
Initially, this feature will be in limited availability, but can be enabled any domain by for request. Submit a ticket to email@example.com to request enablement for your domain.
Questions? Feature Requests? Other Feedback?
If you have feature suggestions or requests, feel free to submit them here, and make sure you mention Migration App in the text.
For more complex requests that would benefit from providing screenshots or other attachments, you may submit them to firstname.lastname@example.org. Be sure to include Migration App in the email title. Our Support team will push your comments to the Product team for consideration.