Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Managing Folder Activity Stream Visibility within Collaborate

Follow

The ability to manage folder activity stream visibility is available for customers on selected plans – Platform Plans except for Team and Business, Life Sciences Plans, GxP Plans, and Document Room Plans.

In Egnyte, the users get visibility into the user activity within a specific folder when they navigate to that folder in Collaborate. This important information is available to the users within the activity pane on the right side of the Web UI as shown below.

Folder activity pane.png

Sometimes, it becomes essential for businesses to restrict visibility into any audit trail within any of the folders within Egnyte for specific user types as a security policy.

Egnyte provides the control for the administrators to enable/disable the activity pane for Power Users and/or Standard Users to enable customers to configure their preferred policy and thus ensure compliance with their security policy.

Note that the activity pane visibility will be enabled by default for both Power Users and Standard Users.

Enabling/Disabling Activity pane for Power Users

The activity pane for Power Users within Egnyte can be disabled by following the steps below.

  • Navigate to the Collaborate app if you are in some other app.
  • Navigate to Settings -> Configuration -> User Types & Roles to open the User Types & Roles settings configuration page as shown below.

image002.png

  • From within the Power Users section, toggle the switch against can view Activity in Folders to disabled.

image003.png

  • In case you want to enable it you can just toggle the switch from disabled to enabled.
  • Finally hit the Save Changes button to save your changes.

Administrators will always have visibility into the activity pane.

Enabling/Disabling Activity pane for Standard Users

The activity pane for Standard Users within Egnyte can be disabled by following the steps below.

  • Navigate to the Collaborate app if you are in some other app.
  • Navigate to Settings -> Configuration -> User Types & Roles to open the User Types & Roles settings configuration page as shown below.

image002.png

  • From within the Standard Users section, toggle the switch against can view Activity in Folders to disabled.

image005.png

  • In case you want to enable it you can just toggle the switch from disabled to enabled.
  • Finally hit the Save Changes button to save your changes.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.