Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Protected View Message Workaround for Co-Editing with Microsoft Office Desktop

Follow

Overview

A workaround to prevent users from getting the Protected View and the blocked macros message when using co-editing via the Microsoft Office Desktop..  This workaround is only applicable to Windows users.  When users open MS Office files, that were uploaded into Egnyte, using the co-editing online option, they will go into protected view and can experience the following issue:

  • Preventing autosaving and co-editing as well as it requires the user to navigate to the folder in Egnyte and save their file via Save As. Afterwards, the protected view is disabled, but this is not an ideal scenario.

Screen Shot 2023-10-12 at 2.29.04 PM.png

  • In addition, the security risk macros have been blocked messaging can be removed as well with the same workaround.

image (10).png

image (9).png

Workaround

To prevent the protected view message. The user will need to allow Egnyte in the Trusted Sites settings and add the wildcard entries in the Trusted Sites settings. The user will need to manually authorize (per machine).

  1. Open the Control Panel
  2. Open the Internet Options
  3. In the Internet Properties window, click the Security tab.
  4. Select the Trusted Sites entry and click Sites.

    image (6).png

  5. Add the following wildcard entries in the trusted sites:
    • Desktop App drive (file://egnytedrive)

      Co-Edit_Protected View_2.png
    • https://*.egnyte.com - Be sure to uncheck the checkbox - "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone", for the site.

      Co-Edit_Protected View_3.png

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.