Egnyte Help Desk

iOS Mobile FAQs

1. How do I bookmark a folder?

To bookmark a folder quicker access, tap the 3 vertical dots against the folder and select the option Add Bookmark. The folder is added to the Bookmark.

This folder is now quickly accessible from the bookmarks tab in the bottom bar of the app.

Repeat the same steps to remove the bookmarks.

 

2. How do I send links from the app?

Press and hold down the touch on the file. A file action menu will appear on the right side of the screen. Select the Share option. Choose the required security parameters on the next page and proceed to send the share link. 

 

3. Does the app sync files to my mobile device?

The app does not sync files to your mobile device (we don’t want to eat up your wireless plan with file synchronization). However, it is possible to download individual files or folders to your mobile device for offline access.

 

4. How do I access files when I’m offline?

First, you need to make the file locally available. Press and hold down the file icon; the action menu will appear on the right side of the screen. Select the “Mark Offline” option. 

 

5. How do I edit and save files back to Egnyte?

Egnyte partners with many third party apps which allow you to open and edit a file from Egnyte.

You can also edit and save files back to Egnyte directly from Microsoft Office apps; Click here to find out how.

 

6. I got an attachment in an email. Can I upload this to Egnyte?

Yes. Open the email and then the attachment too. Click the upload arrow towards the top right and then further pick the "Open in" button as shown in the screenshot. 

 

Further select the Copy to Egnyte option. Your next step will be to specify the folder where you want to upload.

 

7. The app keeps logging me out. How do I fix this?

You'll need to change the "Remember Me" setting. Open the Domain Panel by tapping the top left corner of the screen (3 horizontal lines) and select Settings.

Then tap on "Remember Me" to enable it.

Please note that your account administrator might have pre-configured a session timeout duration for all users. In this case, you won’t be able to change session timeout.

  

8. What is the difference between deleting a file in Files tab vs removing a file in the Offline tab?

Deleting the local version will only remove the file from your device; the file will still exist in the cloud.

 

9. How do I log out of the app?

Open the Domain Panel by tapping the top left corner of the screen (3 horizontal lines) and select Log out.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community.

Help Improve Egnyte

Every day we work hard to make Egnyte better with feedback from users to improve our products. Sign up to participate in Egnyte User Studies.