File Locking and Versioning

Overview

We'll cover how Egnyte handles file locking (preventing other users from editing a file when you are working on it), running reports on locked files, version control (preserving past editions of files), and manually unlocking files.

Lock File

There are two ways in which files can be locked within Egnyte. The first is an automatic file lock that occurs whenever one person has opened a file utilizing Egnyte Connect Desktop App or WebEdit. As long as the file remains open, other users will not be able to edit or delete the file. 

The second way to lock a file is to manually lock the file via the web interface, using the file action menu to lock the file.

UI_manual_lock.png

A locked file will show a lock icon, and moving your cursor over the lock icon will reveal who locked the file and when it was locked.

locked_file.png

Locked files may be previewed or downloaded, but may not be renamed, moved, or deleted. Users may not upload new versions of a locked file.

These rules do not apply to Admins or users with the "Owner" permission on a folder, who may manually unlock any files in that folder.

Unlock File

An open, locked file in the Desktop App or WebEdit will unlock automatically once it is closed. For files that were locked manually through the web interface, the user, an Admin, or a folder owner must unlock the file manually.

UI_unlock.png

Lock Summary Report

Administrators and Power Users that have been provisioned with the can run reports role can use the Lock Summary Report to view all of their domain's locked files. The user can unlock the file(s) by checking the box next to the item and using the Unlock button in the report view. The Reports & Auditing Overview article will provide information about all of our reports and auditing functions.

UI_lock_report.png

 

File Versions

Appending file names with indicators like v 2.1 and 2013 03 23 is an inconvenient way to track the iterations of a file and greatly increases your storage needs. By contrast, Egnyte automatically creates a new version of a file whenever you save and close an existing document.

To view a file's versions, you must first select the List view or Condensed view option. Versions are not visible with the Large icons view.

UI_views.png

The number indicated next to the icon that looks like a clock is the file's version count.

UI_versions.png

Clicking the version icon reveals past editions of the document; these can be downloaded if you want to access older file versions. You can also promote an earlier version of a file so that it becomes the current version.

UI_version_history.png

For any given file, only a certain number of versions will be retained. By default this maximum number of versions is 3, but Admins can change this value through a setting in your account if your plan allows it. This setting can be found in the General section of the Configuration settings under Trash and Retention Policies.

Only 3 versions will be kept for the following file types, regardless of your account setting: Microsoft Outlook/Exchange (.pst and .ost), Microsoft Access (.mdb), QuickBooks (.qbb) and email (.eml) files.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community .