When removing data from the cloud, the last thing you want is for your data to remain on the file servers even after you’ve deleted it. This exposes you to unnecessary risk when handling sensitive files per your own data management policies. Yet, at the same time, you need a recovery plan to look after files that are accidentally deleted. That’s why Egnyte employs a data removal process to protect your company during file deletion.
In Egnyte, when files are deleted they go into a Trash folder. Users can restore files from their Trash folder to reverse accidental deletions. Files remain in the Trash folder for 30 days by default, and Admins can adjust files to remain in the trash folder for up to 180 days.
After files have been in the Trash folder for the designated period, they are emptied from the Trash and completely removed from Egnyte’s system. Admins may request to be notified before Trash contents are purged, which is highly recommend.
To delete folders or files:
- Select the item(s) you would like to delete.
- Choose Delete from the menu.
- Click Delete when the confirmation dialog box appears.
To restore files or folders:
- Click the Trash icon on the bottom left corner of the screen.
- Select the folders or files that you would like to restore.
- Choose Restore from the menu.
- When the confirmation screen appears, click Restore.
Note: Power Users can only view trash content that they deleted. Admins can view trash content for the entire account.
Admins who restore folders from the trash are given an option on whether to restore the original permissions of the folder or to just use the permissions of the parent folder. When a Power User restores a folder, the original permissions are always restored.
Trash Purge Settings
To control how often the Trash folder is emptied, Admins can set the frequency within the General section of Configuration settings under Trash and Retention Policies.