Desktop App Core for Mac 0.9.1 Release Date: August 31st, 2023
Available for Standard Users Indicator (Limited Availability)
We are introducing a new Visual Indicator for folders that are available for Standard Users. In order to increase security awareness, each folder that has been made accessible for any Standard User (directly or via group) will have this special badge.
This functionality will be in Limited Availability during the release, but will be enabled for all customers in following weeks.
Following Egnyte Desktop App features are currently not present in the Egnyte Desktop App Core (v0.9.1)
- Smart Cache connection
- Configuration of data-usage throttling
These features will be added in upcoming releases of the Desktop App Core. Once Desktop App Core reaches full parity with the older Desktop App, this will replace the current version.
Other Notable Limitations
- Desktop App Core will run on OS Monterey or higher.
- There is a difference in Command Line Interface usage - this is described in this article
- Custom Cloud Start Path can only be added via Command Line Interface and only during the drive addition step. After the addition, it cannot be changed.
- If the Core version of the app is running alongside with current production Egnyte Desktop App, there might be some problems when connecting a drive that needs SSO.
- The application checks for open files every 30 seconds and renews or closes locks depending on the file open. This means that files may remain locked for up to 30 seconds after closing the file.
- Opening files from a third-party application’s recently opened files feature (for example, recently opened files in MS Word) may result in opening an older version of the file (if the file has been changed by someone else and the user hasn’t visited the folder where the file resides).
- Some skips will remain on the list even after skipped files are removed from the cloud drive. Clicking “retry all” in the skips panel will resolve those skipped items.
- Thumbnails/previews are available only for certain file extensions when listed in a folder and the rest after the given file is downloaded.
- Context menu: There are some options for which the user does not have permission in the context menu and will no longer be made visible. For example, the rename and duplicate option will not be available in a read-only folder.
- If the skipped file event is generated in the synced folder (for example file is skipped because of unsupported characters) - the file will be removed from the cloud until the skip is resolved.
- No progress bar for syncing items inside the widget
- Visual Indicator for collaboration or for locked files are not visible in folders synced for offline access.
- If a user has installed Desktop App Core and legacy Egnyte Desktop App (Egnyte Connect), restart of Desktop App Core might be required in order for a co-edition prompt to show up.
- If the Core version of the app is running alongside with current production Egnyte Desktop App, the connected folders feature might not function properly.