Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Opt Out of Syncing Deletes with Migration App

Follow

Audience

Any user of the Migration App.

Context

Previously, the Migration Operator did not have the ability to opt out of syncing deletes during True-Ups. However, many customers have expressed a preference not to delete files on the destination during True-Ups, even if files were deleted from the source since the previous migration command.

As a solution, we have provided the ability to opt out of syncing deletes during True-Ups.

Initially, this is not enabled by default on all domains, but is available by request.

From Advanced Options, click on Sync Deletes.

Migration_App_Syncing_Deletes_5.png

This setting defaults to Always. Once set to Never, this selection cannot be changed and will remain in place for this migration job for all future True-Ups.

If you have not made a choice in Advanced Options, you will be offered the chance to decide when you initiate the first True-Up, from the True-Up options dialog. This selection cannot be changed, so whatever you choose in the initial True-Up will remain in place for this migration job for all future True-Ups.

Migration_App_Syncing_Deletes_7.png

If you have already made a choice in Advanced Options or have previously run a True-Up, your choice will be indicated when they initiate any subsequent True-Up.

Migration_App_Syncing_Deletes_6.png

When Confluence Mode is enabled for a migration job, Sync Deletes is automatically set to Never, because we don’t want to delete any data from the destination. This is indicated on the Sync Deletes configuration page in Advanced Options.

Migration_App_Syncing_Deletes_8.png

In the following scenario, Sync Deletes is set to Never. Some files were deleted on the source and a True-Up was executed. In the True-Up specs on the Migration Details page, hovering over the “i” next to Files on Source Previously Migrated brings up a tooltip stating “This is a count of the files still existing on the source that were previously migrated. You may have migrated more files in previous commands, but this is the number still existing.”

Migration_App_Syncing_Deletes_2.png

Questions? Feature Requests? Other Feedback?

If you have feature suggestions or requests, feel free to submit them here, and make sure you mention Migration App in the text.

For more complex requests that would benefit from providing screenshots or other attachments, you may submit them to support@egnyte.com. Be sure to include Migration App in the email title. Our Support team will push your comments to the Product team for consideration.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.