Welcome to
Help Desk

Product Updates
Training
Support
Ideas Contact Support

Auto-Upgrade Capabilities in the Desktop App

Follow

Egnyte Desktop App can be automatically updated after the new version of the application becomes available for auto-upgrade.

Usually the version of the desktop application is put for auto-upgrade in a one to two weeks after the version is released and can be downloaded from the installer page.

Skip Ahead to...

Enabling Auto-Upgrade as an Administrator

Upgrade Process Egnyte Desktop App on Windows

Upgrade Process for Desktop App Core for Mac

Upgrade Process for Desktop App for Mac

Enabling Auto-Upgrade as an Administrator

As a domain admin, in the Configuration tab under Applications section, make sure that Notify users of Desktop App software updates is enabled.

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_6.png

Upgrade Process Egnyte Desktop App on Windows

As soon as the new version is available for upgrade, the application will download it in the background and upgrade will be performed after reboot, without the necessity of user actions.

However, once the update is available user will be informed in following ways:

User will see a system notification:

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_8.png

Additionally, tray icon will be marked with a blue dot:

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_7.png

Inside the widget in the bottom right corner, there will be information about a new version of the application that is available.

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_10.png

After the link in the bottom right corner is clicked, the user is presented with the additional screen stating that a reboot needs to be performed in order to install the upgrade.  User can do it right away or choose to do it later.  After the reboot, the application will be upgraded.

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_9.png

Upgrade Process for Desktop App Core for Mac

As soon as the new version is available for upgrade, the application will download it in the background and upgrade will be performed after reboot, without the necessity of user actions.

However, once the update is available user will be informed in following ways:

User will see a tray icon will be marked with a blue dot:

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_2.png

Inside the widget in the bottom right corner, there will be information about a new version of the application that is available.

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_1.png

After the link in the bottom right corner is clicked, the application will be upgraded - this does not require a reboot and happens in the matter of a couple seconds.

Upgrade Process for Desktop App for Mac

Unlike in Desktop App for Windows or in Desktop App Core for Mac, regular Desktop App for Mac does not have an unattended auto-upgrade mechanism.  Users are only notified about the new versions of the application, but the upgrade itself needs to be triggered by the user.

Users will be notified about the new version of the application that can be installed with a blue dot on the tray icon:

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_4.png

Additionally, inside the widget in the bottom right corner there will be information about a new version of the application that is available:

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_3.png

After the link in the bottom right corner is clicked, the user is presented with the additional screen that a reboot needs to be performed in order to install the upgrade. User can do it right away, or choose to do it later. After the reboot, the application will be upgraded.

Desktop_App_AutoUpgrade_5.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

For technical assistance, please contact us.