In Egnyte, when files or folders are deleted, they go into a Trash folder. Users may be allowed to restore items from their Trash folder to reverse accidental deletions. After items have been in the Trash folder for the designated period, they are emptied from the Trash and completely removed from Egnyte’s system.

Users can learn more about the trash and retention policy settings here.

Only users with Full or Owner permissions to a folder can delete items.

Delete

To delete folders or files:

  1. Select the item(s) you would like to remove.
  2. Choose Delete from the menu.
  3. Click Delete when the confirmation dialog box appears.

Additional Resources

If you need to restore items from trash, you'll find the steps in our Restore Files and Folders article. You can also learn how to retain folder permissions when restoring them from trash.