With the latest versions of Egnyte’s Desktop Sync for Windows and Mac (8.4.1 and 8.4.0), conflict notifications are now available uniformly across all of Egnyte’s sync products (Desktop Sync and Storage Sync).
If you try to update an outdated version of a file, Desktop Sync will create a new file in the same folder with your changes. For example, if you were working on a file named “Spring, Newsletter.docx,” your changes would be saved into a copy named “Spring, Newsletter (conflict copy from <your email address>).docx.”
Desktop Sync will also notify you about the version conflict in a couple ways:
- You’ll get an email with the name of the original file and instructions on how to resolve the conflict
- You’ll see a pop up notification on your machine
You can refer to this article for more details on how conflict notifications work.