The Egnyte Desktop App will automatically notify and update users, by default, when there is a new version available.

In some enterprise environments, admins may want to disable the auto-update notification and control the timing of the update using mass configuration and deployment tools. 

Change Auto-Update Settings 

As of version 3.0 of the Desktop App, Admins can turn on/off auto-update from the Web UI. The app gets/does not get auto-updated. To do this, navigate to Settings from the menu and select the Configuration tab. Then, choose Applications from the list and scroll to the Desktop section of the page. 

Screenshot_2021-02-17_at_15.40.32.png

 

  1. The auto-update does not require admin privilege's on the device.

  2. If there is an update available, it will be updated upon restart of the user machine.

  3. If "notify users of Desktop App software updates" is enabled, then all users on windows machines will auto-update.

  4. If that setting is disabled, then windows devices will not auto-update.