This weekend, we’re excited to announce limited availability for preview-only links. Preview-only links prevent recipients from downloading a file, printing it, or copy/pasting its contents. This makes them a great option for sharing content when you need to tightly control what your recipients can do with it.
Please contact customer support if you are interested in enabling preview-only links.
Once preview-only links are enabled for your account, users can find the new setting to restrict downloads for a link by clicking “Change Link Options” after opening the sharing dialog. Select “No” under the dropdown labeled “Allow Downloads?” to make a link preview-only.
When viewing a preview-only link, you can rotate the preview, zoom in or out, or jump to any page in the document.
Note that preview-only links will also work from a mobile browser. You can do things such as pinch to zoom and swipe to view the next page of the document.
These options ensure that recipients of preview-only links can browse the shared content efficiently even though they cannot download it.
Here are some details to keep in mind when using preview-only links:
- Users will see the option to make a link preview-only in the sharing dialog for file links.
- Preview-only links are available for Office files (e.g., Word, Excel, PPT), PDFs, and images.
- If you or your recipients access a preview-only link immediately after it is generated, you may see a message that the link is still being prepared. Just wait a few minutes if this happens and then refresh the page — your content should be ready.
Get Group Details Faster in Users & Group Section
If you drill down to a user in the Users and Groups section of your account’s settings, you can see a list of the groups that the user belongs to. Now, each of those groups is a hyperlink that links to the Group Details page.
This lets you see who else belongs in that group, making it easier for account administrators to manage group membership.