Egnyte Help Desk

Deleting and Restoring Files

When removing data from the cloud, the last thing you want is for your data to remain on the file servers even after you’ve deleted it.  This exposes you to unnecessary risk when handling sensitive files per your own data management policies.  Yet, at the same time you need a recovery plan to look after files that are accidently deleted.  That’s why Egnyte employs a data removal process to protect your company during file deletion.

In Egnyte, when files are deleted they go into a Trash folder.  Users can restore files from their Trash folder to reverse accidental deletions.  Files remain in the Trash folder for 30 days by default, and admins can adjust files to remain in the trash folder for up to 180 days. 

After files have been in the Trash folder for the designated period, they are emptied from the Trash and completely removed from Egnyte’s system.   Admins may request to be notified before Trash contents are emptied.  

To access the trash folder, click on the "Trash" button on the bottom left corner of the screen.  Power users can only view trash content that they deleted.  Admins can view trash content for the entire account.  When you restore folders from the trash, folder sharing access (permission) is reset and the folder will be shared only with users who have access to the parent folder where the folder was restored.

 To control how often the Trash folder is emptied, admins can set the frequency within "Settings" / "Configuration"/ "General" / "Trash and Retention Policies."

Trash_Retention.png

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community.