Egnyte Help Desk

Sharing with File/Folder Links in Egnyte

Overview

Egnyte makes it easy to share files with colleagues by granting them access to online folders or sharing links to files in the Cloud. Follow one of the links below to learn more about how to collaborate with Egnyte.

Grant Online Folder Access

Share File Links

Share Folder Links

File Sharing Settings

Folder Sharing Settings

My Links

Reporting

Grant Online Folder Access

Once you’ve uploaded files to Egnyte, the easiest way to share and collaborate on those files is to grant colleagues access to your online folders.  Depending on their folder permission level, your colleagues will then be able to upload, download, and edit your files.  Begin by navigating to the folder with the files you want to share, then click "Share" from the list of buttons under the folder path.  Please note that only admins and folder owners can grant access to shared folders.

The "Share" window shows all the users who have access to the current folder.   If want to share files with colleagues who already have an Egnyte user account, enter their username in the search bar.  If you haven’t yet invited any colleagues to Egnyte to share files, click on "Invite New User" and enter a new username, email address, and password.  An invitation will be sent to your colleague’s email address with instructions for logging in.   

When inviting new users into Egnyte, you have the option of choosing whether new users are Power Users (Employees) or Standard Users (Non-employees).  Standard Users are typically outside business partners and don't have access to advanced Egnyte features such as FTP or link sharing.  Power Users are typically employees in your company, and have access to all enabled Egnyte features.  Click here to learn more about the two user types.

When you invite a user, you enter their email address and a user name.  The "User Name" field will auto-populate with a suggested name based on the email address you enter for the new user. 

 Your new users will have immediate access to all files in the current folder as well as all the files contained in its sub-folders.  By default, the new user will be given "Editor" access to files in these folders, allowing them to download as well as edit files.  You can adjust their access levels so they can only view and not edit the files ("Viewer"), or you can give them access to edit as well as delete files ("Full"). You could also make them a folder "Owner", which would allow them to view, edit, and delete files, and also change the list of people who have permission to access the folder.

With Egnyte’s access level settings, you can also remove sub-folder access.  Click here to learn more about folder access.

If you want to share a file with someone without requiring them to login, send them a link to this file.  When your colleague clicks on the link, Egnyte will generate a preview of your file. Your partner can review it there or download the file. 

There are two easy ways to do this from the web interface.

1. Hover over the file and select the blue "Share" button next to the right.

2. Select the file and choose the "Share" option from the file action menu.

When the dialog opens, you’ll see a summary of the security and expiration options available. You’ll also be given the option to either copy or email the link.

If you click “Get Link”, the screen will change to show a link URL already selected. You can copy the link and paste it into the body of the email client you are using to send emails.

Choose “Email Link”, and you will be prompted to enter your recipient’s email address.

To adjust your link's settings prior to sharing it, click "Change link options".

Under "Change link options", you can...

  • Set the link to expire after a certain date.
  • Set the link to expire after a certain number of clicks. 
  • Set whether the link always points to the most recent version of the file or whether it references this version only.
  • Decide whether this link can be viewed by anyone (a public link), anyone with a password (password protected), only those from your Egnyte account (a private link), or only users from your Egnyte account whom you specify (a user-restricted private link).
  • Choose whether the file can be downloaded or is preview-only
  • Request an email notification whenever the link is clicked.

Please note that only administrators and power users can send links. 

When you want to share the contents of an entire folder with a colleague or business partner, browse to the folder and then select the "Share" option followed by the "Share Folder Link" option.  Please note that only administrators and power users can share folder links.

The folder link dialog looks very similar to the file link dialog. You can adjust the link's options to decide who will have access to the folder, set an expiration for the link, and more.

When your colleague clicks a folder link, they'll see a display of all its contents. They can preview the contents there, download all of it at once, or pick individual files.

If you have password-protected your folder link, your colleague will see this message before they can proceed.

File Sharing Settings

To ensure complete control over file sharing, Egnyte provides a number of file sharing settings that allow admins to control how file and folder links are shared.

Controlling New User Invitations

When granting online folder access to colleagues who do not have an Egnyte account, admins can always create both Power Users (employees) and Standard Users (outside business partners). Power Users, on the other hand, can only create Standard Users.  Admins can revoke this privilege by going to "Settings" >> "Security"  and scrolling down to "Power Users."

 

Controlling Link Sharing

To manage how employees send files via links, admins can navigate to "Settings" >> "General" and scrolling down to "Sharing." Your options include...

  • Setting a default link lifespan in terms of days or number of clicks.
  • Specifying a maximum link lifespan in terms of days or number of clicks.
  • Limiting which types of Public and Private Links may be sent.
  • Changing the email client used to dispatch links.

You can revoke Power Users' permissions to send links of all types from the "Settings" >> "Security" menu above.

 

Folder Sharing Settings

Egnyte offers folder links and several different types of file links. You might decide that it’s okay for users to use all these sharing options for most of the content in your account, but want to restrict sharing for certain folders that contain sensitive documents. Our newest feature makes this possible: folder level link controls.

The folder level link controls are located in “Folder Options”. You’ll be able to modify them if you are a folder owner or admin.

You can choose three levels of security, which will apply to files in this folder and any sub-folders.

  • Allow users to send public ((i.e. for users outside your account) file and folder links
  • Allow users to send public file links but not public folder links
  • Prohibit both public file and folder links

For example, if you choose the “Don’t allow public links” option, users will be prohibited from sharing any public folder or file links from this folder. They can only send private file links.

Please remember in the hierarchy of link controls, account level link controls get applied before folder level link controls.

 

File and folder links that you create can be viewed and modified from the My Links tab Selecting a link gives you the option to delete it, edit the expiration lifespan, or view other details like its original recipient.

Access "My Links" by visiting "My Profile."

Reporting

Link Summary Reports

In order to ensure complete visibility of file sharing between users, admins can monitor which files and folders are currently being shared via links using the Link Summary Report.  The report allows admins to view all active links and delete links. At present, the report does not allow the admin to see who a link was sent to.

To view the report, go to "Settings" >> "Reports" >> "Link Summary Report." 

  

File Audit Reports

The link summary report is useful for monitoring the links which are currently active from your account's documents, but if you want to review a history of link creation and sharing, you can use the File Audit Report. This report will allow you to see links which have been created, shared, and deleted over a specified time frame.  You'll also be able to see the IP address and geographic information of the users who clicked a shared link.

To learn more about File Audit Reports, check out this article.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community.