Desktop App Core for Mac 0.6 Release Date: February April 7, 2023
In June 2022, we released a new application called Egnyte Desktop App Core. It is created to address the issues with app deployment (approving kernel extensions) and freeze issues that occur on M1 Pro and M1 Max devices.
More details about the new experience can be found in this article.
Enhancements to starting or joining co-editing session
In this version, we revamped a co-editing capabilities with the newest Microsoft integration. If the file is already downloaded, the second download will not happen at the start/joining of a co-editing session.
We introduced a visual representation in case a server is unreachable (for example when the user is offline). User is notified by a greyed-out tray icon and info displayed in the widget.
Additionally, we introduced improvements for the scenarios when upload was interrupted by a lost network. Upload will resume automatically right after the connection is back.
We improved app performance for scenarios where files with larger sizes (over 100 MB) are downloaded.
Adding Copy Direct Link into Context Menu
We introduced Share:copy direct link in the context menu. More information regarding direct links can be found here.
Key Issues Addressed
Fix for an issue with missing synced folders
We fixed a rare issue which caused some of the subfolders of a folder synced for offline access were not synchronized.
Following Egnyte Desktop App features are currently not present in the Egnyte Desktop App Core (v 0.6)
- Connected Folders
- Smart Cache connection
- Configuration of data-usage throttling
These features will be added in upcoming releases of the Desktop App Core. Once Desktop App Core reaches full parity with the older Desktop App, this will replace the current version.
Other Notable Limitations
- Desktop App Core will run on OS Monterey or higher.
- There is a difference in Command Line Interface usage - this is described in this article
- Custom Cloud Start Path can only be added via Command Line Interface and only during the drive addition step. After the addition, it cannot be changed.
- If the Core version of the app is running alongside with current production Egnyte Desktop App, there might be some problems when connecting a drive that needs SSO.
- The application checks for open files every 30 seconds and renews or closes locks depending on the file open. This means that files may remain locked for up to 30 seconds after closing the file.
- Opening files from a third-party application’s recently opened files feature (for example, recently opened files in MS Word) may result in opening an older version of the file (if the file has been changed by someone else and the user hasn’t visited the folder where the file resides).
- Some skips will remain on the list even after skipped files are removed from the cloud drive. Clicking “retry all” in the skips panel will resolve those skipped items.
- Thumbnails/previews are available only for certain file extensions when listed in a folder and the rest after the given file is downloaded.
- Context menu: There are some options for which the user does not have permission in the context menu and will no longer be made visible. For example, the rename and duplicate option will not be available in a read-only folder.
- If the skipped file event is generated in the synced folder (for example file is skipped because of unsupported characters) - the file will be removed from the cloud until the skip is resolved.
- No progress bar for syncing items inside the widget
- Visual Indicator for collaboration or for locked files are not visible in folders synced for offline access.
- If a user has installed Desktop App Core and legacy Egnyte Desktop App (Egnyte Connect), restart of Desktop App Core might be required in order for a co-edition prompt to show up.