Egnyte Help Desk

Actions in the Sensitive Content tab

Once you select content classification policies, Egnyte Protect will start surfacing locations matching these policies in the Sensitive Content tab.

Filtering the locations list

You can narrow down the list of sensitive locations using filters from the collapsable Filters pane. Once you apply these filters, only locations matching all these filters will be displayed.

SC_filters.png

The available filters in the Sensitive Content tab are:

  • the matched classification policies
  • the Risk score of the folder
  • the time when the details of the location, such as the Risk score or the matched classification policies, were last updated
  • whether the location contains any unpermitted sensitive content

Exporting the locations list

You can export the list of sensitive locations shown in the Sensitive Content tab as a CSV file. From the export dropdown, you can either export the complete list of locations or just the filtered list of locations currently shown in the tab.

SC_export_dropdown.png

Permitting sensitive content

While you can permit an entire folder tree to contain sensitive content from the Source settings page, you can permit individual folders from the Sensitive Content tab. For example, you may want to permit just a folder to contain files with PCI-DSS content but not permit any of its sub-folders to do so. You can do this easily from the Sensitive Content tab.

1) In the Sensitive Content tab, turn on the toggle to display only those locations with unpermitted content. This toggle is turned on by default.

Permitted_content_toggle.png

2) Click on the location’s row to bring up its details. You can see the classification policies that have matched against content in the location.

Whitelisting_tool.png

2) By default, no sensitive content is permitted in the location. If you want to permit content matching a policy, you can turn on the toggle for that policy.

Permitting_policies.png

3) Once you’ve permitted a policy for this location, any new files matching this policy are considered to permitted in the location.

4) If you’ve permitted all the detected policies for a location, it will be hidden from your view as the location now only contains permitted content. Any new files matching the currently permitted policies will not bring the location back. However, if content matching some new unpermitted policy is found in the location, the location will come back to the view.

Permitting_all_content.gif

5) To view all locations with sensitive content, regardless of whether the content is permitted or not, turn off the toggle.

Unpermitted_content_toggle.png

Using the above actions, you can reduce the risk of sensitive content exposure in your sources. The Sensitive Content tab is also periodically refreshed to reflect any changes you make in your sources. When you take actions outside Egnyte Protect, such as moving identified sensitive content to more secure folders, the list of locations with unpermitted sensitive content will get automatically shrunk down.

Egnyte Community

Egnyte Community

Want to connect with other Egnyte users and our Egnyte team? Share ideas and ask questions in our Community.

Help Improve Egnyte

Every day we work hard to make Egnyte better with feedback from users to improve our products. Sign up to participate in Egnyte User Studies.